Archive | 12:03 pm

I fear, you fear, we all kefir!

20 Mar

Good Morning!

Sorry I didn’t do a post last night, but I was pooped!  Work went pretty well yesterday and started off with this beauty:

This is Post Selects Blueberry with walnuts, dried cherries, raisins, chia seeds, almond butter, greek yogurt and after this picture, kefir and skim milk.  Very tasty.  However, it’s time to get some *real* cereal.  I’ve been eating the Post Selects because we have it in our pantry (it was on sale at some point…), but it’s not what I want to be eating.  I dress my cereal myself, I don’t need anything more than something that’s a simple flake.  Todd said it right when he said that it’s basically sugar cubes in a box. Ya, not what I want to eat.

Something that I did want to eat was this:

This was my lunch.  Peas mixed with pulled pork (more pork is below the peas…), put on the one bun in the background and topped with the spinach in the plastic bag.  I also ate a few red peppers (which appear to have missed my lens – which is a shame as they were very succulent and pretty) from my snacks and the delicious grapefruit finished off my meal.

Speaking of the snacks,

I didn’t eat the banana that I had ear marked for my morning snack, I just had a few almonds (about 9) instead. The piece of toast with almond butter was for my afternoon snack and it was very yum.  I toast most of my bread products that I take to work with me.  I’m not into soggy bread and this always gives it a little bit of extra crunch.  This particular piece looks like it’s a little extra dark…

When I got home, Todd was in the backyard doing some yard work and enjoying the glorious sun.  When he finished we sat in the sun.

Unfortunately, although the sun was warm, the wind was blasting cold – hence the big fat hoodie.

A very happy sun dog.

After this I ate some almond butter and pumpkin butter on a one bun (recycled pic, sorry!).

Neither Todd nor I really felt like eating supper, so we just grazed on a bite of this and a bite of that.  Nothing really noteworthy.

We then grabbed a coffee (couldn’t stop yawning!) and did what every couple does on a Friday night, we went to the bookstore!  :)  Todd wanted to check out some books on deck building, because he wants to build a very simple deck at the back of our yard – actually, where we were sitting in that picture above.   While Todd learned, I grabbed Michael Pollan’s Food Rules off the shelf and started reading.  We were there for less than an hour, and I managed to read the whole thing!  It was really interesting.  Bare bones, simple and straight to the point.  I really enjoyed it and think that it can teach people a thing or two about what actual, *real* food is.

After we left the book store, we went to the other place where all couples love to go on a Friday night – the grocery store!  We picked up some collard greens, swiss chard, shrimp and kefir.  Ever since I first tried kefir – I can’t get enough of it!

This is the kefir that I love:

Unfortunately, the closest Trader Joe’s is across the border and about 45mins away from my house

This is the kefir that I can buy here:

It’s alright, but nowhere near as good.  It actually really tastes like grains.  We have a whisky distillery in my city and the kefir tastes almost the same as the distillery smells.  If you live in Windsor, you either love the smell, or you hate it. When I first moved here, I thought it was gross – but now I look forward to the days when you can smell it.  However, I don’t really like my *kefir* to taste that way…

Besides, kefir, I also love Todd and Moxie – aren’t they cute?

Don’t you just love her blanket?  Gotta love the dollar store!!!