I hear that the South is nice this time of year…

30 Jan

So I have no less than 6 blog posts that are partly done and I’ve bypassed all of them to show you what I did today!

Earlier Todd and I were eating breakfast and he mentioned that we hadn’t been to Point Pelee National Park (45 mins away) in a LONG time.  Between having a busy few months and Todd’s knee injury, we haven’t been there nearly as much as we’d like.

But there’s no time like the present, right?

Buuuuut, I had just gotten dressed for the gym and capris certainly wouldn’t cut it outside today.  So change clothes and play outside, or go to the gym and start the strength training program that I’ve been debating starting for awhile (more at the end of the post). 

Changing clothes doesn’t sound difficult, but when you’re already dressed and oh so comfy…

So I threw it our there on the great sounding board of twitter,

Tweet1

The resounding answer was to enjoy the outdoors (except for my cousin across the pond who said to order a Chinese take away and watch tele – lol!).

So we bundled up – and I put full length pants on – then off we went to the Park we went!  

The drive flew by and before we knew it, we were flashing our season passes and entering the park.  I was actually going to start this post off today with “So Todd and I decided that we needed to go south today…”  Point Pelee National Park is the southern post point in all of Canada. 

And that’s your random tidbit for the day ;)

Anyway, It was perfect temperature wise, but the sun was nowhere to be found…

IMG_0511

Clearly I don’t care about the pics that I send out into the internets…. Are my teeth really that crooked?  Oh, how I wish that my parents could have afforded braces…  Honestly though, I’ve learned to accept my grill and like to call it endearing  :) 

IMG_0513 IMG_0514 IMG_0515 IMG_0516  IMG_0518 IMG_0519

The ice has been pushed up onto land and broken up, over and over.  Gorgeous. 

IMG_0521 IMG_0522 IMG_0523  IMG_0525So Point Pelee comes upon its’ name honestly.  It’s a land mass that has a point – a peninsula that comes and goes with the seasons and the years.  The Point used to be very long (all the time), but because of changing water currents and other natural events, it comes and goes.  Last year, the point was only a tenth of a mile long or so.

Today, we walked out on the Point, and across the frozen snow, ice and sand almost a half a mile out.  We decided to stop when we saw no more sand, or footprints from anyone else…

Looking back at the mainland

IMG_0527 IMG_0528

You’d almost think that we were in the arctic from this picture,

IMG_0529

And is that an iceberg?  Well, not so much.  It’s just another bunch of broken up ice.  But isn’t it absolutely beautiful? 

IMG_0530

IMG_0531

Yes I have my Garmin on.  How else would I know how far we’d walked?  :)

And Todd being a goofball… 

IMG_0535

I got distracted by something pretty, had to try that pic again…

IMG_0536 IMG_0537What a fun day!

I don’t want Monday to come, but this will definitely carry me through the work week :)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So I mentioned that I was looking at starting a strength training program (again).  I’m not a huge fan of strength training (kinda boring…), but know that it’s a necessary evil.  Seeing as I’m a third of the way through my training plan for my April race, it kinda seems like inopportune timing, but I think it’s needed.  I’m doing 3 run days and 3 gym cardio days, but it doesn’t seem to be enough.  The weight just isn’t moving.  So I think that it’s time to add in some weights too.  I’m reluctant because I’m not willing to give up any cardio, but it just means that I need to do a couple two-a-days.  I think I might wait another week to start this though.  I really need to think/wrap my mind about this, and what this commitment will really entail.

“A job worth doing, is a job worth doing right.”  – Ken Gardiner (My dad)  :)

Leave a Reply

