TVP ‘Meatballs&rsquo

20 Jan

Today I was sure that it was Friday.  *sigh*

It has been a great week though.  So great that I’ve gotten up to date with most (ok, I still have 3 partials in my writer…) of my to be written posts!

And speaking of posts, here’s my post from Sunday when I was writing my third entry for my Recipe Challenge…

My workspace for the afternoon.  We used to have our giant kitchen table in this spot, but it was way too big, so we moved it to our den/dining room area.  Since then, I’ve had this fold-up table here.  It works nicely and 90% of the time I have tablecloths that fall in a way that you wouldn’t even know it’s a fold-up table.  I’d like to get a small pub table (really small, like half the size of this table)  with two saddle stools or pub chairs.  I  think it’ll work perfectly – although maybe not as a work surface.  And that’s what is preventing me from doing it thus far (oh, and I’m cheap.  Buying nothing and using this table is free :P).

IMG_0247And check out this expensive ergonomic kitchen seating device :)

This stool has been well LOVED.  It’s Rubbermaid and is as old as I can remember.  I was uber-excited when I inherited it this past summer.

IMG_0251

And the stack of cookbooks – well, I decided that they need a new home.  Clearly this isn’t it.  So far they’ve made it to my dining room table, but I just can’t find the perfect, accessible spot.

IMG_0252

Oh, and the Post-it Flags?  Ya, that’s my type A personality coming out.  Yellow means, interesting recipe, an option to make.  Red means, make this recipe ASAP.  Blue means, made the recipe and it was great.  Green means, useful food or cooking tip.  There are a lot of flags….  Hey, but it works for me :)

So on to the recipe at hand!  The newest recipe for the Recipe Challenge!

Today (err, last Sunday) we’re making TVP ‘Meatballs!’

Sounds delicious, doesn’t it?  Don’t let the TVP thing scare you off.  Textured Vegetable Protein sounds scary, but it really isn’t!

Textured Vegetable Protein is made from defatted soy flour.  It’s dehydrated and very economical.  And the best part, the Nutrition Stats!  For 1/4 cup of dry TVP:

  • Calories – 80
  • Protein – 12 grams
  • Sugar – 3 grams
  • Carbohydrates – 7 grams
  • Fibre – 4 grams
  • Fat – negligible

How bout them stats?  So what do you think, ready to try TVP?  Here’s an awesome recipe that showcases the TVP.  You can also hide it in sauces, but then, how would you know if you liked it then?

Onward we go!  Here are our ingredients for the day:

IMG_0256

And here is the aforementioned TVP,

IMG_0257

I told you it wasn’t scary (boo!).  It might not be that attractive, but there’s really nothing to be afraid of.

IMG_0258

Clearly this is still dehydrated.  2 cups of TVP needs approximately 2 cups of boiling water.  I used a beef bouillon cube in mine in order to add some flavour, but to veggify (it’s a word!  Ok, it’s not…) this, just leave it out!

IMG_0262

Add the boiling liquid to your TVP, mix it around and let it sit for about 10 minutes.

IMG_0263

After 10 minutes, your Ground Beef TVP will look like this,

IMG_0265

Mince your your onion.  Add the onion and minced garlic (the pic at the top shows a garlic bulb.  Clearly I actually used jarred, which I totally forgot that I had bought the day before!) to your bowl with the TVP

IMG_0267

I love the taste of fennel seeds and I actually chose to make some sort of meatballs, so that I could easily put them in!

IMG_0269

Take a sharp knife and chop those little seeds up.  It doesn’t need to be perfect, but having whole fennel seeds in little wee meatballs isn’t really appealing to me.  Add this to the bowl.

IMG_0271Oregano.  Probably my favourite herb :)   Add it in!

IMG_0272

Add in the basil,

IMG_0276

I bought this whole grain Dijon from Trader Joe’s (holla!) and being a mustard connoisseur, it has become one of my favourites.   So add it in too :)

IMG_0277

And add in your Lea and Perrins (<—ha, my last name…minus the ‘s’ of course) or your store brand knock off Worcestershire sauce.  You’d think I’d buy the real thing  – and in this case I should have (sometimes being cheap isn’t a good thing!), the flavour wasn’t as good.  Either way, add it in!

IMG_0278

Lastly add in your egg and mix all together.

IMG_0280

Once you mix it all together, add your breadcrumbs and mix again, thoroughly.

IMG_0281 IMG_0282

Now for the fun part!  Time to get your hands dirty, or rather, messy and a little gooey.  Take you mixture and form into uniform balls.  You should end up with 30 –35 meatballs, depending on how large you made them.

IMG_0284

Now tell me that that doesn’t look like a ground meat meatball?

IMG_0286

Throw them in the oven – oh and put them on parchment (I put just about everything on parchment:  live and learn), no need for any possible sticking or use of oil.

20 minutes later…

IMG_0287

I could just eat these right up! …oh, I did!  Todd kept popping one in his mouth every time he passed through the kitchen too!  And he knew full well that they were TVP (which he claimed before this that he really didn’t like!).  I put a third of these in the freezer before they vanished, for an easy dinner one night.

IMG_0289

I’ve tried them with barbeque sauce, ranch, plum sauce, marinara sauce and plain.  I’ve eaten them in a wrap, with pasta and on their own.  Winner, winner, ‘meatball’ dinner ;)

 

TVP ‘Meatballs’

  • 2 Cups Textured Vegetable Protein
  • 2 Cups Boiling water
  • 1 Beef bouillon cube (optional)
  • 1/2 Small onion, minced
  • 2 Cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp Fennel seeds
  • 1 tsp Basil
  • 1 tsp Oregano
  • 2 T Whole grain Dijon mustard
  • 1 T Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 Egg
  • 3/4 Cup Breadcrumbs
  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Boil two cups of water and dissolve a beef bouillon (optional) cube in it.
  3. In a bowl, combine the water and TVP.  Mix together and allow to sit approximately 10 minutes, allowing the TVP to rehydrate.
  4. Once water is absorbed.  Add in onion, garlic, fennel seeds, basil, oregano, Dijon mustard, Worcestershire sauce and egg.  Mix well.
  5. Add in Breadcrumbs and again, mix well.
  6. Line a pan or baking sheet with parchment.
  7. Form the mixture into small uniform balls.  The mixture will make between 30 and 35 meatballs.
  8. Place in oven for 20 minutes.
  9. Enjoy!
3 Responses to “TVP ‘Meatballs&rsquo”

  1. B.Bennett January 22, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    These look great, and not too hard or time consuming to make. Actually, this might be a good toddler-mommy tag team recipe project!

    Mmm, fennel seeds. One of my favorite cooking things. Yum!

    Me thinks I may have seen that stool before? Long live the stool!

    Oh, I just realized why we’re friends, after all these years… You colour code your post it taggies too! Love it!

  2. Amy January 23, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    These meatballs remind me of falafel. And they look yummy in the end. The best part was how much your humor made me smile while I read it. Thanks, Becky.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Recipe 3/52 TVP ‘Meatballs’ (Becky) « -- Topsy.com - January 21, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by B.Bennett, Becky Perrin. Becky Perrin said: Scared of TVP? Don't be! http://bit.ly/eWtCpu […]

Leave a Reply

