Cinnamon and blueberries and loaf, oh my!!!

19 Jan

How’s your Wednesday going?  It’s almost over, in my case.  However, I did not want to get it started this morning.  I’ve been sleeping in the spare room (Todd has a gross head cold) and the duvet in there is extra cushy, so I totally didn’t want to get out of bed.  But of course, I got out of bed, had a productive workday and came home.  

I had a great run after work.  It wasn’t the fastest I’ve done in a while (and I really had to be careful with the bits of ice), but it just felt good.  I was happy to be done – simply because it was cold – but I really felt like my running mojo was returning!

Ok, seriously, I’m boring myself with this bather… 

How about a recipe then?

Last Saturday I felt like something with blueberries in it.  Pancakes?  No.  Muffins?  Not quite.  Loaf?  Yes, who doesn’t love a good loaf :)

I searched online for a recipe that had a good ingredient list and didn’t have lemon or coffee.  I just wanted to taste the blueberry flavour.

I ended up mainly using this one, with a few wisps of this one in it.    

It started out with mixing the sugar and butter together until it was creamy.

Does this look creamy to you?

IMG_0218

It doesn’t look creamy to me either, but I don’t think that it ended up making a difference in the finished product.

IMG_0215

Once I added the egg yolk to the sugar and butter, it took on an almost creepy vibrant yellow colour.

IMG_0219

Try as I might, I couldn’t get a picture that translated the eerie colour that it was.  

In went (alternately and slowly) the milk and flour/baking powder.  I used half whole wheat and half all purpose.  It called for all purpose, but why not use some whole wheat if you can, right?

IMG_0222 IMG_0223 IMG_0224In went the vanilla and I thought that I’d add a tablespoon of cinnamon.

IMG_0225

This cinnamon was definitely a good choice.  I think that the recipe would have been lacking without it. 

In went the slightly still frozen blueberries.

IMG_0227

Hehehe, it’s purple…

IMG_0231

I have never had to beat eggwhites to get them to froth before.  This was oddly satisfying!

IMG_0216

It amazes me that all of this eggwhite frothiness came from one egg!

I tried my best to fold in the eggwhites without sacrificing their integrity.  Easier said than done, but I think I did ok ;)

IMG_0232

Everything mixed together and placed in the greased pan with some cinnamon sugar on top to make a crust.

IMG_0237 IMG_0239And out of the oven!

It looks flat, doesn’t it?  Well, that’s because it is – but through no fault of the recipe.  It rose nicely in the oven and was a good looking loaf.  Then I turned it onto its’ side in order to let the bottom cool and stay crusty.  This has worked a thousand times.  Well, this day it rolled right over and sat upside down for a good 20 minutes while it cooled, and I didn’t notice.  And that’s why it’s squished.

It certainly didn’t hurt the flavour though!  It was absolutely delicious.  My one complaint was that it was a bit too moist inside.  I would imagine it was because the blueberries were still slightly frozen when I used them.  However, there was nothing in the second recipe that I based this on that said that they should be defrosted (and if they were defrosted, wouldn’t they just be more moist and liquid?  Hmmm…).  Or maybe it was just a moist recipe.

Either way, it was good enough that half of it was gone in 12 hours, so I stuck the other half in the freezer ;)

IMG_0242

This recipe was tasty and I might make a few more tweaks next time, but there will definitely be a next time :)

One Response to “Cinnamon and blueberries and loaf, oh my!!!”

  1. B.Bennett January 22, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    Mmm, cinnamon sugar crust.

    ‘Nuff said.

Leave a Reply

