Spanakopita (and phyllo) – part 1…

17 Jan

I’ve been trying to write this post for over a week now and it just seems that the world has been conspiring against it!  In a good way though – been busy and been having a full life.

So my Recipe Challenge continues!  The second recipe is actually two-fold.  After a lot of research, I not only made Spanakopita; but I used my own phyllo dough!

Because there is so much information between the two recipes, I’ve split the post in two.  This is part one, with part two (and the recipe listing) following tomorrow.

IMG_0024 IMG_0028

Start off by putting the spinach in your food processor and grate it until it’s in small pieces and the stems are incorporated.  IMG_0036IMG_0037

I misjudged how much fresh spinach I had in my fridge and ended up using some frozen too.  After I took out the fresh spinach, I put the frozen stuff right in and did the same thing.

IMG_0038

In a bowl, mix the spinach all together, and set aside.    IMG_0042

Cut off any dry parts of your green onions and mince.IMG_0046 IMG_0047

Place a pan on medium heat, heat up your olive oil and add the spinach and onions.

IMG_0048

Mix thoroughly to ensure even distribution of the olive oil.  IMG_0050

Add in your 2 cloves of garlic.  I have a little problem with garlic.  I love it.  On or in just about anything. Limiting myself to two cloves was a challenge ;)

IMG_0051

In goes the oregano,

IMG_0052

and the coriander.  This was my first time ever using coriander and I really enjoyed its’ flavour.

IMG_0053

last in the pan is the dill.  That’s right, dill.  I read A LOT of Spanakopita recipes and some called for it and some didn’t.  I thought that it would really add to the complexity of the flavour.  I was right ;)

IMG_0054 IMG_0059

Mix this altogether and cook until the onions are tender, about 5-8 mins.

Remove from the pan and allow to cool to room temperature.

IMG_0060

Once cooled, beat one egg and add to mixture, being sure to mix thoroughly.IMG_0062

Next up, add in the cottage cheese,

IMG_0063

the feta cheese,

IMG_0064

and the parmesan cheese.

IMG_0065

Add a few turns of ground black pepper and mix everything together well.

That’s all there is to the filling for the Spanakopita!

Tomorrow’s post will have the rundown of the entire recipe along with a phyllo dough recipe and tutorial.  Having it all in one post was just toooooo long.

So instead, here’s a sneak peak (and a blurry picture) of the nearly finished product… IMG_0149

See you tomorrow for part 2!

One Response to “Spanakopita (and phyllo) – part 1…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe 2/52 Spanakopita (and phyllo) – part 2 « - January 18, 2011

    […] you miss part one?  Be sure to check it out, because otherwise you’re going to be a little […]

Leave a Reply

