The easiest soup ever!!!

16 Jan

 

Okay, I have had one heck of  busy week.  The crazy thing is that I couldn’t even tell you exactly what I’ve been doing!  It’s now the beginning of the next week and I am STILL working on my Sunday recipe posts!  I can’t seem to stay focused.  I have three posts associated with Sunday’s escapades, one from Tuesday and one from yesterday (Saturday).  And of course, today I’ll in the kitchen doing it all over again ;) 

Some of them are marathon posts, I tell you.  I need to learn to say more, with less words.  But if you know me IRL, you’ll know that this just isn’t possible!

So instead, I’m going to share with you the soup that I made last Saturday (Jan 8), which is the easiest soup to make ever!  This soup is not only easy, but it’s delicious!  I make this soup every 2-3 weeks without fail.  In fact, if it gets closer to that 3 week point, Todd will actually request that I make it.  Now that is the ultimate compliment  :)

I call this soup ‘Leek and Lima Bean Soup,’ although the broccoli and cauliflower components are almost as equal.  Buuuut, I don’t want the name to be crazy long, so Leek and Lima Bean Soup it is!

Start out by chopping the leeks,

IMG_4988You want to use the white and light green parts of the leeks.  Discard, the dark green parts of the leeks, as I’ve done with the two full leeks you can see.

Place your leeks in a large bowl and fill it with water so that all of the leeks are floating off the bottom.

IMG_4990

Swish them around for a half a minute or so.  This will get any dirt left on the leeks (it likes to hide within the layers) to fall to the bottom of the bowl.

Use your hands to scoop the leeks out of the bowl and shake off any excess water.  Clearly you want the dirt to stay in the bowl, so you can’t pour the water out, you need to leave it in and get the leeks out.

Put your leeks in a large saute pan, where you have melted your butter over medium heat.  IMG_4993 IMG_4994

Stir the leeks in oder to get the butter to coat all of the leek pieces.     IMG_5000Cover and let sit until the leeks are slightly translucent.    IMG_5004Add your chicken stock, IMG_5008

and lima beans.

IMG_5009

Chop up your head of broccoli.

IMG_5005 IMG_5006 

Leave lots of stalk, as it has lots of flavour!  Add to the pan.

 IMG_5010

IMG_5011Chop your cauliflower florets in the same manner as the broccoli and add to the pan.

IMG_5012       IMG_5019Stir everything together.

Cover and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low until cauliflower is fork tender.

IMG_5020Next is the hard part.  Allowing your soup to cool.  I bring my soup down to room temperature before I put it in my blender.  This has come about because of this recipe, a blender glass jar and a complete break in it from the bottom to the top – while in my hand!  So now, I don’t put hot liquids in my blender.  I reheat if necessary.  

Usually, I just take it off the burner and take the lid off, but today, used my environment, IMG_5024Lid left on to deter any potential visitors.

Stirred after 10 minutes…

IMG_5028

And moved to a new patch of snow…

 IMG_0001 

And voila! It’s soup!  Not so appetizing this way though, so into the blender it goes!

IMG_0002 IMG_0003 IMG_0004 

Blended to your own tastes.  We like a few small chunks, but mostly smooth.

IMG_0005 IMG_0006  IMG_0008Ready for the ridge and the freezer.

IMG_0009

IMG_0011

Doesn’t that look good?   I promise it is absolutely delicious, and you’d never believe how few (and how healthy!) ingredients there are in this soup!  Hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Leek and Lima Bean Soup

  • 1.5 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 bunch Leeks (2 large, or 3 medium)
  • 12oz frozen Lima beans
  • 4 C Chicken stock
  • 1 small Broccoli stalk
  • 3 large Cauliflower florets
  1. Cut leeks down the center and slice 1/4 to 1/2 inch wide.
  2. Put sliced leeks in a large bowl.  Fill the bowl until all of the leeks are floating.  Use your hand to swish the leeks around.  Dirt likes to hide in the layers of the leeks, so you want to make sure you get all of it – no one likes gritty soup!  After swishing, any dirt left on the leeks will sink to the bottom of the bowl.
  3. Melt the butter on medium in a large saute pan.  Once melted, put the leeks in the pan.  Saute the leeks until tender and slightly translucent, approximately 6-8 minutes.
  4. Add chicken stock and lima beans.  Any type of lima beans work, and if frozen, there is no need to defrost.
  5. Chop broccoli, leaving several inches of stalk.  The stalk has lots of flavour!  Add the broccoli to the pan.
  6. Chop cauliflower and add to the pan.  Cover, bring to a boil and then simmer until cauliflower (which will take the longest) is fork tender.
  7. Once, cauliflower is tender, take pan off of the burner and let sit until cooled to room temperature (could take more than an hour).
  8. Once mixture is cooled, put half in blender and blend to desired smoothness (8 secs in my case).  Place in bowl and add the second half once blended.  Mix together to ensure consistency.
  9. Enjoy!   …freezes VERY well.
Leave a Reply

