Cooked Chickpeas? Ummm…

12 Jan

…I wrote this last night, but was so tired I forgot to publish it!

It’s snowin like a mofo out there right now!  It started snowing around two and and it doesn’t look like it’s stopping anytime soon.  I was at the gym for only an hour and a half and it took me a good 7 minutes to clean my car off after I was done!  And of course I came home and shovelled the sidewalk.  In my capris.  That’s right, I’m Canadian hard core. 

When I got home, I fully intended to have leftovers again; but they were missing from the fridge when I looked.  I’m guessing Todd took a menagerie of food for lunch today.  So I decided that this was a great opportunity to open up a cookbook and follow a recipe!  That’s right, trudging along with my recipe challenge!  I already fulfilled my week 2 recipe commitment (x3! I just haven’t written the posts yet), so this doesn’t contribute – it’s just bonus and a great habit to get into.

I didn’t feel like having any meat tonight, which was good, because I didn’t feel like cooking any meat.  Confession:  If there isn’t meat already made, 95% 99% of the time, I don’t bother with it.

I found a delicious looking recipe in Cooking Light:  The Essential Dinner Tonight

IMG_0175  IMG_0177Looks pretty good, doesn’t it!  Now of course, since I hadn’t planned on making this (and amazingly it wasn’t one of the tabbed recipes that I want to make – think I have enough of them? lol!), I had to make a few substitutions.  Although there were several of them, I don’t think that the substitutions interfered with the integrity of the recipe.

My one complaint with the recipe came right at the beginning of the process. IMG_0178The amount of oil you use to saute the garlic seems a bit excessive to me.  I understand that the flavour of the oil helps to flavour the sauce for the dish, but it just seems unnecessary to me.

Now this recipe called for chickpeas cooked into a sauce.  I really don’t like chickpeas – save for hummus of course – so I wasn’t sure if I’d enjoy it.  I decided to increase the amount of crushed red pepper it called for, in order to hedge my bets. IMG_0180 IMG_0181IMG_0182As I don’t keep seashell pasta on hand (ummm, does anyone?), I used half a box of whole grain fettuccine instead.

IMG_0183These are the fixins to be tossed with the pasta.  The red peppers were supposed to be grape tomatoes and the mushrooms were an add in, and definitely a good add in.   

IMG_0188

I drained the pasta, but didn’t rinse it.  The starch will help the sauce stick to the noodles.

And speaking of sauce,IMG_0187Well, this was a bit of a non-start.  We just replaced our food processor and this one has an extra piece that the old one didn’t.   IMG_0190Yup, there it is.  Once I actually attached it to the bottom (which actually allows the blade to turn), we were off to the races!

IMG_0191The recipe said that it was pureed enough when it was smooth.      

IMG_0196This is definitely not smooth.  There are two reasons for this:  1) I used a can that had 4 oz more chickpeas in it than I should have (and forgot to reserve it) and 2) I used my food processor when I should have probably used my blender.  I‘m VERY hesitant to use my blender for hot or warm items though.  I had the glass container part of my last blender actually crack all the way from bottom to top – IN MY HAND!  Scary, for sure.  And the liquid was just warm, not hot (which the glass was supposed to withstand).

All together now,

IMG_0197     IMG_0202Looks delicious!

IMG_0203Of course, I had to make one more substitution.  It called for parmesan, I used a bit of asiago.

Other notes that I had about the dish:

– Although it was absolutely delicious, I will say that the sauce looked like vomit

– The few grape tomatoes it called for definitely wouldn’t have been enough.  More veg to the dish would definitely enhanced the dish.

– I felt like this dish could have used a tad more raw garlic – or maybe that’s just my addiction talking…   

I’d give this recipe a 7.5/10, but will absolutely make it again (incorporating my notes of course).  I actually left the cookbook open on the counter, because I know that when Todd sees this in the fridge, he’s gonna be like, “What in the world is that?”  lol!

One Response to “Cooked Chickpeas? Ummm…”

  1. beyondbennett January 12, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    Hmmm…looks like vomit? Can’t WAIT to try it! :) No, it actually sounds really good, and doesn’t look that bad in finished form. I like that the chickpeas are blended in a sauce — not a fan in their whole form. Great notes, btw. You’ll have to tell me how the leftovers are!

    Um, we have seashell pasta. In many different sizes. Apparently it’s a novelty in the toddler world. And wagon wheels. (LP picks them out.)

Leave a Reply

