They won’t be leftover for long…

10 Jan

Hope you had a great weekend!  I certainly did.  My weekend involved, relaxing, reading, lots of cooking, lots of grocery shopping, some laundry and some cleaning.  Perfect if you ask me.

Today was good too.  Work was productive, my Reader shrunk, my workout was fantastic and my dog was happy to see me when I got home.  Again, perfect if you ask me.

Another perfect thing?  Leftovers.  Not having to cook dinner after a busy  and very full day, sign me up!  Leftovers really get a bad rep, and I have absolutely no idea as to why.  Just look at this delicious plate:

IMG_0172Here we have leftover barbecue chicken, leftover pan-fried mushrooms, leftover green beans, leftover homemade macaroni and cheese and some raw cauliflower.  If it weren’t for leftovers, there’s no way I would have eaten this well tonight.

The macaroni and cheese is a Cooking Light:  the Essential Dinner Tonight recipe.  Todd made it yesterday and it was absolutely fabulous (and fabulous again today!).  The only complaint with the recipe is that we had to double the amount of macaroni (and we switched out whole wheat instead of white); because it was so cheesy, it was nearly soupy.

We’ll definitely make this recipe again.  It’s a stovetop version and I think next time we’ll make it on the stove, but transfer it to the oven with some breadcrumbs and grated cheese on top.  Yum.

Speaking of yum, this is the second week of my Recipe Challenge and I must say it’s going great!  I created not one, not two, but three new recipes!  I also made a soup that I’ve made dozens of times, but have never featured on the blog.  Because I’ve made it before, it doesn’t fit in with the challenge, but I think that I’m set for recipes for this week ;)

So look to see those recipes in the next few days.  Which means that I have a lot of typing to do (2 of those recipes are for one dish)!  Off I go to type my heart out :)

One Response to “They won’t be leftover for long…”

  1. beyondbennett January 11, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    We had leftover night last night too!! Isn’t it a fabulous way to have a relaxing supper???

    Mac and cheese looks fabulous by the way!! (And you can never, ever use the word fabulous too much, I say!) :)

Leave a Reply

