Hey, wait a minute Mr. UPS Man!!!

5 Jan

Happy Wednesday!

Today’s entry is going to be a short one, for two great reasons.

First of all, the Gold Medal Game for the World Junior Hockey Championships is on tonight and Canada is playing Russia for GOLD!!! 

It’s a rite of passage for all Canadians to grow up loving hockey.  That love didn’t leave this girl behind.  I actually enjoy Junior hockey more than NHL hockey.  Junior hockey is the level before NHL.  For my American friends, unlike other pro sports, most hockey players don’t play college hockey, Junior hockey is where you go (think of it as the minor leagues), and this is where the NHL drafts from.  These players are typically 17 – 19 and are fantastic!  The biggest difference between the Junior game and the Pro game (IMO), is that there is a lot more passing and finesse.  I love a good check like anyone else, but I find it’s such a focus of the pro game that it can get repetitive and actually decrease the excitement.

The Junior team in my city – The OHL team, the Windsor Spitfires – is actually the 2x defending Memorial Cup Champs (which is the Championship for the Canadian Hockey League, with teams all throughout Canada and a chunk of the US – and the best of the players of that age).  I went to just my second game last year and had a blast.  Hope to get some tickets for this year!

*Currently Canada is leading Russia 2 – 0!*

The other excitement for my night keeping me away from blogging (although now that I’m looking at it, maybe I am making a full post – lol!) is that the two cookbooks I ordered from Amazon came today!

I’ve been wanting to get a new cookbook for a few months and I’ve taken a lot of time at the bookstore looking at what book I wanted to buy.  After many scouting sessions, I ended up finding two, one of which was $42 and the other $43.50.  Ummm, if you don’t know by now, I’m cheap.  So I looked online and thanks to Amazon, I was able to get both for just over $50 (thanks to some Christmas money!)!

I’m so used to having to sign for packages, that I was quite surprised to see the box just sitting in the dark on my front porch today.  The thing is, it’s not really a non-descript box…

IMG_4946  Needless to say, I ripped into the box straight away!

IMG_4947

Notice the lack of books? lol!  I left Todd’s Futurama Season 5 DVDs in there, not nearly as exciting as the books!

And speaking of the books,

IMG_4941 The Simple Art of EatingWell Cookbook – Jessie Price, 2010

IMG_4942

  The Sunset Cookbook – Pam Hoenig (Ed.), 2010

IMG_4944 Look at how thick this one is – it’s the same size as the Joy of Cooking!

I figured that it would be apropos to pose them on my stove – they are cookbooks after all.  And this is the first time that I got to use my cookbook holder that I got for Christmas!  I’ll be thumbing through them tonight and hope that I can make something tomorrow, but I do think that I have a lot of reading before me (but didn’t I want that?).  I hope they’re as great as I thought they were in the store! 

I’ll give a review of them and why I chose them in a couple weeks, after I’ve been able to make a few dishes.  Seriously, I can barely contain my excitement!!!!

***As I’m reading over my post, I just realized that both books are based on magazines!  Strange as I really don’t read magazines!  Is this new development bad, or good, I wonder?   ….oh, and now it’s 3-0 for Canada :)

3 Responses to “Hey, wait a minute Mr. UPS Man!!!”

  1. beyondbennett January 6, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    I totally prefer watching jr hockey to nhl. For sure! I felt so bad for the guys last night — it was a rough end to the game. Hopefully next year…

    Your books look great!! I love reading cookbooks!! And I totally hate when they leave them stranded on the porch — especially in such an advertised box to boot!

    (PS – love the entries and glad you’re back blogging steadily!! I love looking forward to finding posting alerts in my mailbox!)

    • Becky at Flybynyght January 6, 2011 at 9:33 am #

      I’m glad to be blogging regularly too!
      About the books – anyone could have taken them! I happily would have trudged all the way to the UPS office to get them when they saw no one was home. I always deal with Canada Post and Purolator who do just that. Or maybe my packages have always required a signature before this… hmmm…
      Now the question is, will the cookbooks count towards my 40 books I’d like to read for the year? Of course I won’t read every word of every recipe, but I will read most of them. As well, there are a lot of how-to’s and tutorials in each… oncegain, hmmmm…
      Oh, and funny enough, I was just sending you an email :)

      • beyondbennett January 6, 2011 at 9:40 am #

        I think they should totally count towards your 40 books! Put them in the non-fiction section!!! :)

Leave a Reply

