Really, it’s 2011 already???

2 Jan

So it’s been a while since I’ve been here…  Just what exactly have I been up to?  Welllll…..

I Ran a race…

IMG_4599This race was BRUTALLY cold.  The wind was so strong and frigid that I had to wear my hat down as far as possible in order to keep my eyes from tearing up.  It was a small 5K that I ran and enjoyed last year so wanted to do it again.

IMG_4608Oh look, an action shot!  I finished this race 2 and a half minutes slower than I did last year, but felt good during the entire race and have to blame the wind a little ;)

Took some interesting photographs…

IMG_4613 IMG_4669

Went to a concert for this curly-haired guy… IMG_4846

A big group of friends went to see this up and comer play a concert.  Four and a half hours after the concert began, there were still opening acts playing and he was nowhere near taking the stage.  In fact, he was in the crowd, talking to friends (he’s originally from my city) and drinking beer.  We left before he hit the stage.  This timing issue may not have had anything to do with him, or been under his control, so I’m not going to publish his name.

Went to Las Vegas (for the fourth time)…IMG_4674

Where I got a Royal Flush playing video poker!  Unfortunately, I wasn’t playing for myself, so didn’t get to keep the money (but got to make my Dad very happy!).

IMG_4680Stopped to smell the roses….errrr, poinsettias.  Todd said I looked like a goof when he took this picture.  I think that the next picture takes that award…

IMG_4718I had a blast riding the new zipline  that goes down Fremont Street and under the canopy.  Best $20 I spent all year.

IMG_4745Went up in the ‘Eiffel Tower’ at the Paris and watched the fountain show at the Bellagio.

IMG_4757

Todd trying to pretend that he’s not terrified right now.  He’s afraid of heights and I was amazed that he was able to spend so much time up there.

IMG_4670

Got up close with Mark McGrath.  No, your eyes aren’t playing tricks on you, that’s not me with him.  He was very nice (although shorter that I had anticipated), so would talk to each person for several minutes…I didn’t feel like waiting, I had things to do!

And were there to run this…

Source

We ran the half marathon.  Todd had registered for the full, but had a knee injury and hasn’t really been able to run since July.  He decided to run at my pace and to complete the race with me.  Considering that he can run a half marathon in an HOUR less time than I can, this was music to my ears.  Running a race with my husband by my side? Yes, please!

66880_469259214262_514099262_5782301_7586215_n

Friends found at the airport on the way there…

IMG_4630

I made us shirts to represent, and met a ton of Canadians before, after and especially during the race.  We’re a friendly crew!

IMG_4633

Sooooo glad we put our names on our shirts!  Soooo many people shouted our names throughout the entire race!

athlete photo

Finishing the race together – a first – and likely a last.  *Full recap on this race soon…

106_0147

After the race on our way to the after party at the Wynn.  Our room was awesome – we stayed at the Tropicana and their renovations were fantastic!  If you look out of the window on the left, you can see the Luxor pyramid.

Rediscovered a hobby that I’ve missed…

IMG_4772 IMG_4780Had a great time with great friends…

IMG_4232IMG_4571

IMG_4249IMG_4813 IMG_4496

IMG_4818 IMG_4298

IMG_4826The cute picture…

IMG_4828

The slightly scary picture…

Made and ate some amazing food…

IMG_4643

IMG_4540

IMG_4304

IMG_4402

IMG_4414

And had an amazing time, living life.

So I’ve had a great time for the past few months, and now, I’m ready to start sharing these experiences with you again.  That’s right, I’m making a recommitment to blogging.  I love it, so why don’t I make more time for it in my life?  I will from now on.  My post tomorrow will have more on this as well as my other commitments and recommitments for 2011.

Happy New Year to you all, and remember to actually get out there and live life, rather than just talking about it, or letting it pass you by.

2 Responses to “Really, it’s 2011 already???”

  1. beyondbennett January 3, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    Great post! I especially love the pic of you, little one and me walking down the street. Fabulous! Glad you’ve gotten back into jewelery making — love the necklace, btw.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. *tap**tap* Is this thing on? « - January 24, 2012

    […] last years’ Commitments to see how well I did, then a recap of the year, as I did last year  (although I took so few pictures this year, it could be mostly text and oh, so thrilling…). […]

Leave a Reply

