An Icky Post…Be warned!!!

1 Nov

On Sunday, I went out for my first run since I was sick.  My plan was to run 8 miles.  I repeat, my PLAN was to run 8 miles.

It was a gorgeous day, a little chilly, but sunny and calm.  I started out toward my normal route and felt that my legs were a little heavy, but it was nice to be out running again.

And then, a mere 5 minutes into my run, I started choking on mucus running down the back of my throat (ewwww, I know, right?  Sorry, but have to honest!).  I held on to a tree and got it all out (again, ewwwww). 

Or, at least I thought I did.  By the time I finished my first mile, I had found another tree and a sign pole and literally found myself at a fork in the road.  I could go straight and continue on my run, but this was not going well and I felt kinda ill from all of the heaving.  Or, I could turn right and go home.

I chose to keep on going.  For about another quarter mile, when I was doubled over gagging and expectorating.  (gross – how have you hung in this far?)  That’s when I decided on option 3. I would go to the Ford Test Track (an old one-mile track that Ford used to test their vehicles on), which was probably about 3/4 of a mile a way, make a lap of the track, and continue on home, which was another mile from there.

What a great decision.  Getting to the Test Track involved more of the same grossness, so I stopped my Garmin, took off my fuel belt and sat down on a bench for a few minutes.  I got some more out and decided that for a change, I would do my lap around the track at an uncomfortable pace for myself.  Clearly running faster would mean that I’d have to walk, and more often, but I wanted to push my legs and my lungs.  The only way to eventually run faster is to practice running fast, right?

This mile went well and I continued on home with only a few more incidents.  When I got home, instead of being upset that I didn’t complete my milage, I was proud that I reassessed my situation (hehe, Situation…) and did what was right for me for that run.  4 total miles for the day, and happy.

This morning when I got up, my lungs felt like I had smoked an entire pack of cigarettes – likely a combination of the mucus, my asthma, and my lungs working harder from running at a faster pace.  I loved it. 

My run today was only a 5k, and I decided to run the whole thing at an uncomfortable pace.  I ran it at a much faster pace than I thought I could (although there was lots of walking), and although it wasn’t sustainable, it was nice to get my legs running faster than they thought they could, and my lungs working harder than was comfortable.

When I got home, I took a little stroll in the background in order to cool down a little and took a closer look at something I’ve noticed, but not taken a close look at.

Normally I’m not a fan of vines coming through the fence from the neighbours’ yard, but over the last several weeks this guy has been peeking his head through,

IMG_3926

And I think that it’s absolutely gorgeous!!!

IMG_3927

With these cute little guys pokin their heads out, I won’t be saying anything about my neighbours’ foliage intruding into my yard :)

IMG_3928I hope that they come back to play next year…because with the temperature dropping, I don’t think that they’ll be around much longer :(

Speaking of the temperature dropping, here’s someone else who’s morning the loss of early fall…

IMG_3938 No more toasty sun filled afternoons :( 

Onto warm blankets and snuggling up! :)

Leave a Reply

