The one where I learned to write down the website…

26 Oct

So I found a fantastic recipe that Gracie made for Pumpkin Bread.  Unfortunately, I printed out the recipe and somehow forgot where I got the recipe.  For some reason (probably her tasty recipes), I thought that the recipe was Heather’s.  So after deconstructing my Google reader and utilizing everyone’s search function, I found the recipe that I was looking for!  Gracie’s Pumpkin Bread was absolutely easy and delicious!

First, the wettish ingredients,

IMG_3980 And the dry,

IMG_3988All mixed together and placed in a loaf pan.

The only change I made to the original recipe is that I added about 1/3 of a cup of chopped walnuts.  I put half in the batter, and half on top. I tapped the nuts down a little, to make sure that they’d adhere.

Notice the loaf of bread that’s beside the pumpkin bread?  Well, Todd was experimenting and came up with a FAIL.  Not to be discouraged, he’ll keep trying to get his bread to his standards and eventually I hope to have him *gasp* guest post.  Of course, he doesn’t know this yet…lol!

IMG_3990 IMG_3998 Fresh out of the oven!

IMG_4018

Look at those walnuts!!!  Mmmmm…

IMG_4020 IMG_4030A slice for me, and slice or Todd :)

IMG_4032

I totally felt that the walnuts made the bread – but I do loooooovvveeee walnuts baked in just about everything! I think that chopped pecans would be really good too.

I actually made this yesterday while I was having my inaugural adventure in yeast sitting, and I totally think that the flavours have married even better today.  I definitely recommend this recipe, and seeing as I still have a can of pumpkin, I may just be making it again soon :)

A few other recipes that I’ll be making/creating Very Soon…

  • Green Tomato Relish
  • Green Tomato Salsa
  • Green Tomato Bread
  • Healthier Fried Green Tomatoes

Now why so many Green Tomato recipes?

Well, tis the season and Todd broke down what was left of the garden before it got hit by the first frost, which is absolutely inevitable.

My sad looking garden      IMG_3925 IMG_3930 Just some Rainbow Swiss Chard left, IMG_3933 IMG_3934

And some scary looking leeks.  Ok, they’re not scary looking, but Todd said that they were definitely scary smelling – to the composter they go!

IMG_3936But back to the Green Tomatoes.  We had more tomatoes this year than we’ve had in the past 5 years combined!  This also meant that at the end of the season we had a lot of tomatoes that weren’t ripe.

Gorgeous, no?

IMG_3921

And I’ve got a lot of them.

IMG_3918

No, seriously…. A LOT.

IMG_3922

There were also a bunch of randoms left for harvesting:  tomatoes of various degrees of ripeness, green peppers, and onions.

IMG_3924

So expect a bunch of recipes incorporating these ingredients in the very near future  :)

To everyone who has the space for a garden – you should have one!  It really takes up minimal space and as long as you keep it up, minimal time.  The rewards far outweigh the work involved and the money involved in buying the produce you could produce (lol – gotta love the english language :P)

As I mourn the end of summer and embrace the beginning of fall, I can’t help that Moxie Pie is also morning her sun filled naps and sun filled leisurely lays in the sun.

IMG_3937 Good thing that the leaves have fallen, because this little girl is a huge fan and it just might make up for the lack of sun.

Now, on to research green tomatoes…

Laters!

4 Responses to “The one where I learned to write down the website…”

  1. Gracie October 26, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    Adding walnuts sounds like a FAB idea!! I’d definitely add nuts except that my dad can’t have them :/ Some dried fruit thrown in there would be awesome too, huh? :) Glad you liked the recipe!! xoxo G

  2. Heather @ Side of Sneakers October 27, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    Haha I WISH I made that pumpkin bread- yum! Oh you’re garden looks SO much better than mine ;)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It didn’t even make a dent!!! « - October 27, 2010

    […] Remember these? and these? […]

Leave a Reply

