Adventures in Yeast Sitting…

25 Oct

Trouble was a-brewing in the house today.

Wait, not trouble, YEAST!  I had my first adventure using yeast today and it went really well!

Today was Municipal Election day and before I hopped out the door to do my civic duty, I wanted to make something that wasn’t too involved, but still hearty and delicious.

So what fit the bill?  Pizza!

I love me some homemade pizza, but until today I’ve never made my own crust from scratch.

I used this recipe and was quite pleased!

All of the necessary ingredients:

IMG_3949

All Purpose and Whole Wheat Flour together

IMG_3955 Here comes the yeast (never having used it before, I was a little nervous!)

IMG_3956

After mixing everything together, I shaped it into a ball (and finally exhaled)

IMG_3958

I had to knead the dough for 4-6 minutes and as I was doing it, I realized that I didn’t actually *know* how to knead dough.  So I did what you do when there’s something you don’t know…I googled it and watched an instructional video ;)

IMG_3960 After the kneading, back into another ball

IMG_3961

And then all covered up to allow it to rise

IMG_3962

And while the dough was rising, I got some toppings chopped up.  Leftover pork tenderloin, mushrooms and red peppers (the fridge was kind of lacking in the topping department).

IMG_3967

And 10 minutes later, back to the towel…  Um, I do think that it’s bigger!

IMG_3985

It is!  It is!

IMG_3986 All rolled out on my pizza stone.

IMG_3987

Now if your powers of deduction are in working order, you’ll notice that the element at the top of the oven is on, and the one at the bottom of the oven is not.  That, my friends, means that the broiler was on and I wasn’t actually baking my pizza crust.

FAIL!

Or was it?

I didn’t get a picture, but basically, the bottom was cooked a little bit and the top was quite… well, broiled.  It was very firm and a little dark (think whole wheat pita colour), but seemed to be no worse for wear!

So what did I do?  I flipped it over, making the top now the bottom, and leaving me with a perfectly crisp crust.

I then topped it up and threw it back in the oven (this time on bake…) and crossed my fingers.

It turned out perfect!!!

IMG_4000

IMG_4001 mmmm…oooey gooey…

And check out that crust!

IMG_4005 IMG_4007 IMG_4014I’m not thinking that there’ll be any Domino’s drivers coming to my house anytime soon (not like there was before…lol!).  And now I know that there’s nothing to be afraid of when it comes to yeast!

Stay tuned for a pumpkin bread recipe (tomorrow I hope…) and of course, I still have my Detroit Freep Marathon recap to do (*still* riding that runners’ high!).

2 Responses to “Adventures in Yeast Sitting…”

  1. beyondbennett October 26, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    Love the play by play pics! Isn’t a rising ball of dough absolutely gorgeous?? And the feeling you get when you realize that you actually made your own pizza? Out of this world!! (And yup, I’m such a culinary geek!!) It looks so good…Perfect for voting night:)

    (PS only a couple of weeks until we see each other! YAY!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The one where I learned to write down the website… « - October 26, 2010

    […] actually made this yesterday while I was having my inaugural adventure in yeast sitting, and I totally think that the flavours have married even better today.  I definitely recommend […]

Leave a Reply

