Take a picture, it lasts longer…

22 Oct

This week there has been a definite changing of the seasons.  Areas to the north of me had snow yesterday.  However, since I live in the ‘Banana Belt,’ it was 18 degrees Celsius here.

With a change in the weather, I’ve noticed that there’s been a change in my food too:

Breakfast did look like as cool as this…

IMG_3224

IMG_3227

IMG_3226

But now breakfast comes in a different vessel and leaves me warm instead of icy…

IMG_2910 IMG_2911

IMG_3002

IMG_3228

And from heavily veggie-centric meals,

IMG_3187

IMG_2987

IMG_2988 IMG_2998

To heavily veggie-centric meals in a different way…

IMG_3233

IMG_3235

IMG_3179

Mmmmm…  I love all of the different seasons and I love how what ends up on my plate changes with them.

As we transition from early to late fall, I look forward to mixing different flavours together and experimenting with with some new ones.  In fact, I took a look at the herbs and spices that I regularly use, and I can break it down to 5 mere ingredients:

  • garlic
  • oregano
  • basil
  • dill
  • red pepper

Um, ya.  Bad food blogger.  Time to broaden my flavour boosters… (Ok, I do use other spices, but those are my go-to’s BY FAR…can you say rut?)

Wow, just talking about flavour combinations makes me want to experiment in the kitchen.  Actually, earlier this week I tweeted (hey, you should follow me on twitter) that I need to start remembering to take my camera into the kitchen with me.  It’s one thing to take a pic of the finished product, but it’s another to try to take pictures of the process.

My style of cooking generally entails determining a few of the ingredients that I’d like to use, and using this as a jumping off point.  From here, who knows.  I generally work feverishly and figure it out as I go along.

This recipe creation process definitely needs to be documented more often here (and then my recipe page wouldn’t be so sparse), rather than just seeing a pic of the finished product.

Now I’m going to pour myself a glass of wine, put on Entourage (just discovered the greatness!) and decompress from the week.

…btw, I’m working on my recap post of the Detroit Free Press [Half] Marathon from last weekend – it was sooo much fun!

2 Responses to “Take a picture, it lasts longer…”

  1. beyondbennett October 23, 2010 at 8:11 am #

    Great post! I love the seasonal changes in eating too – squash, anyone?

    A few questions: What do you like to put in your ‘green monster’? Your oats? Do you change it up or do you like to stick to a certain combo? Does it change on days in which you do long runs? Or the day after? I’m intrigued…

    Oh, and I have to squeal with delight for a second (forgive me!): PUMPKIN BUTTER!? (Any chance you’re hitting TJs before our meet up?? No worries if you aren’t! I thought I’d ask just in case!)

    I cat wait to see more of the meals you and Todd are cookin’ up!

    • Becky at Flybynyght October 23, 2010 at 9:30 am #

      I almost always make my GM the same way: two big handfuls of spinach, 1/2 cup of skim milk, one *frozen* banana, 3/4 cup of frozen fruit (fave is a mix of strawberries, peaches and mango), 1/4 cup of Greek yogurt and 1 Tbsp of lite hershey’s syrup. Delish! As for oats – if I’m also having a GM, I generally keep it simple: 1/4 cup of oats, made with milk and a Tbsp of chunky natural PB, and possibly some raisins. If I’m eating the oats on their own, I’ll have 1/3 cup made with milk, mash a half banana in it, have 11/2Tbsp of nut butter, add 1/4 cup of kefir, some chopped walnuts (preferably) or almonds, some raisins, dried cherries (preferably) or craisins and perhaps some chia seeds or cinnamon.

      As for TJ’s, probably won’t get there before Nov 6 (if we do, I’ll let you know), but I do think that I could bring some yummy samples with me… :)

Leave a Reply

