You’ll see what I want you to see…

6 Oct

Oh, what a day…

But at least it was sunny! (…don’t be judging my dirty floor…)

IMG_3758

If you follow me on twitter, then you already saw that I made a wee mistake at work today.  I lost 2 pieces of paper that are very important to our fiscal year end.  To fix this mistake, it’s going to take me twice as much time to redo this work as it originally took.

Now I could look at this as causing extra work in an already hectic day, or I can look at this as a learning opportunity.  I have chosen the perspective of the latter.

I have been finding myself very distracted at work, going from one project to the next and not necessarily finishing one task before I start the next one.  Now I can sometimes be my most productive in this manner, but it can also cause a little bit of stress.  It can feel stressful just having all of the unfinished projects, papers and piles on my desk. 

These piles, full of paperclips and staples, have been known to collect a page or two that weren’t intentionally attached.  I think that this is where my missing papers went…

So instead of dwelling on the fact that I messed up, I’m going to take this opportunity to clean up my working style and concentrate on finishing (and cleaning up…) one project before I start the next. 

Choosing to take a beneficial perspective, a positive outlook or an optimistic view can be difficult, because you have to make a conscious decision to see things differently. 

Conversely, it’s important to see the whole picture and not just what someone else wants you to see.

For instance, have I shown you my gorgeous pansies that I have on my front porch?

IMG_3788

I’ve cared for these all summer and they’ve definitely brightened up my mood on days like today :)

IMG_3795

And if that was all I showed you, you’d think that my flowers were still abundant and healthy.  When in actuality, they look more like this:

IMG_3799

And if the whole story is told – they really look like this:

IMG_3790

Dead as a doornail, with a small phoenix rising from the ashes.

When you’re only given a small snippet of the picture/story/situation, you can’t assume that you know everything, or that you’re not just being given what the author/photographer wants you to see.

Everything in life, and (especially?) in the media, is through the eyes of the person telling the story.  Just because the story is being told, it doesn’t mean that it’s complete, accurate, or even educated.  Being a participant in life, a consumer of the media and most appropriate to this situation, a reader of blogs, the onus is on you to view everything with your own critical eye.  You must determine whether the view/story/picture seems correct to you, matches your morals and ideals, or if its’ message will have an effect on you at all.

I’ve been wanting to do a post on perspective for a while, but with the Marie Claire* article about the supposed “Big 6” that came out this week, this seems even more relevant now.  Just because someone publishes something, it doesn’t mean that it’s thorough, accurate, or without preconceived notions.  You’re simply seeing the small bit of the story that the author wants you to see.  Think Titanic and the iceberg.    

And now for the worst transition ever….

Todd made dinner tonight (yeehaw!).  He took cod fillets and dredged them in a simple milk, egg and whole wheat bread crumb mixture.   

IMG_3755

So simple, yet soooo delicious.

IMG_3756

We had it served with leftover butternut squash, peas, jasmine rice and pickles!

                    IMG_3804 IMG_3807

And a piece of delicious 9-grain bread from the bakery, with a liberal coating of butter.  Yum.

IMG_3812

I’m classy, so I eat my fish with lemon juice and ketchup.  Uh-huh, ketchup.

Todd likes to identify with the mother country and loves malt vinegar on any fish or fish and chip combo.

Myself, I can’t stand the smell of the stuff.  In fact, if there is malt vinegar in any sort of sauce, I know on first whiff – no need to even taste it.  No thank you.

IMG_3786

Such a nice picture for a yucky item (mmm-hmmm, I said yucky…).

Before I noticed my pansies on the front porch (clearly after some time of neglect) , I thought about showing this series of pictures as a demonstration of seeing the whole picture…

The other night the moon was really gorgeous and close, so I wanted to get a picture,

IMG_3749

Close?  Ya, not so much…  Turns out that my zoom works pretty darn good :)

IMG_3745

And so does my flash!  Hello, back yard!

IMG_3746

Hello overgrown basil, purple basil and dill!

K, that was a lot of post…. night!

*I could easily link to the magazine here, but why would I?  I would never have read their magazine before, I’ll certainly never read it now and I don’t want to send any potential traffic their way. If you’ve been absent from the blogosphere and don’t know what article I’m talking about (or want to know *exactly* how I feel about it), feel free to email me, becky at flybynyght @ gmail . com

3 Responses to “You’ll see what I want you to see…”

  1. B. Bennett October 14, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

    I likey me a lotta post. :)

    Great post, btw. Fabulous pictures — especially the moon!! And the topic? Something we all need to talk about more often than we do. People really do need to stop and think about perception — whether it’s in their own life or in a blog they’re reading. Sadly, many see what they want to see and know nothing else but that. Question everything, I say! Look at the bigger picture!!

    I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on this whole “Big 6” blogger/magazine article controversy…in only a few short weeks!! YAY!

    (Thanks for fixing my technical flub!!)

  2. According To C October 18, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    I put ketchup on my fish too! And I’m a Newfie!! Not a purist at all.

  3. According To C October 18, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    P.S. I’m a big believer that in the end, events and circumstances don’t define us, but it’s how we handle them that makes us who we are. You’re right. Stuff happens, but you make a choice to deal with it in a certain way.

Leave a Reply

