My definition, my definition is this…

5 Oct

Hey all! 

I feel as though I’m still trying to find my sea legs… errr rather, blog fingers(?!?).  After 8+ years of blogging (holla!), you have to go through phases of redfining yourself, or at least what you’d like to say.  I know that I’ve mentioned this before, but I think that it’s work re-hashing.

When I started blogging, I wrote mainly to escape my horrible worklife and to vent about said horror.  In the process I found the part of me that really missed writing and expressing myself through words.  I wrote the blog anonymously and found great thrill in feeling like I could say whatever I wanted.  Until the day that someone I knew stumbled upon my blog.  I felt violated.  I felt as though this person had entered my secret world where I could tell the absolute truth about everything all the time and I wasn’t ready to share a spot in that world.

Thankfully, that person wasn’t my boss.  In fact, it was someone that I was happy to share my frustrations and hopes with.  It really caused me to re-evaluate why I was blogging and what it was that I wanted to say.  I decided to stop dwelling on how bad work was and to change my perspective.  Instead of venting, I decided to not have work and negativity be the focus of my blog.  I also decided to tell my closest friends about the blog (Todd always knew about the blog, but decided that it was my place and he didn’t want to enter it – but knew that he was always welcome).

Losing my anonymity was freeing.  It was so freeing that I decided to leave the blog that I was at and start with a fresh blog at Blogger.  I told all of my friends and family about the blog.

Mistake.  I felt completely stifled.  Stifled creatively, stifled by Blogger and stifled because I was writing to my audience instead of writing for myself.  I’ve always taken blogging breaks (hence the name…) and have found it necessary for sanity, for freshness and just for re-grouping my message.  At this time, I felt that I needed more than just a break.  I took a leap and decided to leave Blogger – it was never a good fit.

I’ve been at WordPress since April of 2007 and I truly feel that it is my home.  Like any home, sometimes you have to move the furniture around and sometimes you need to change the wallpaper – but no matter the changes, it’s still home.

Since I’ve been at WordPress, I’ve gone from being a blogger that talked about the day-to-day quirks of life to being a food journaler to now being something in between.  I have found that documenting every morsel of food that goes into my mouth is not for me (although the accountability was great…) and that I *need* to talk about navigating through my day-to-day life.

So…having made these decisions, I feel as though I’m ready to start updating regularly again.

I have quite a few topics that I wan to talk about in the next couple of weeks:

– Running and it’s role on *my* self confidence

– Alcohol and its’ role in the(this) healthy blogger’s life

– How your perspective on a situation can mean everything

– The Biggest Loser – friend or foe?

– Comparing yourself to other bloggers

– Cost vs ethics (wow, that one sounds ominous…)

– How I *enjoy* a happy marriage

– The Marie Claire article about the supposed “Big Six”

Whew – I have lots that I want to say!  Although I guess that that’s a good thing!  lol!

Tonight I shall leave you with some pics of some delicious food (btw, I think my pics have been getting mmmmuuuch better)…

IMG_3743  IMG_3517     IMG_3522 IMG_3523    IMG_3527      IMG_3667  IMG_3669    IMG_3673     IMG_3678 IMG_3679 IMG_3680 IMG_3681 IMG_3682    IMG_3688

IMG_3686

Ok, trying to keep up with Biggest Loser and #fitblog on twitter!  Until tomorrow!

2 Responses to “My definition, my definition is this…”

  1. B. Bennett October 13, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    And now I have that song in my head!! (Which makes me wonder how on earth I know all the lyrics…)

    I love the list of topics — can’t wait!

    Love the pics — very professional looking. Especially the grapes and beets in the natural light. Nothing like eating grapes outside…and beets. Mmm…beets anywhere… YUM!

    (Lots of love going around here tonight…can’t help it! LOVE the updated blog!)

    • Becky at Flybynyght October 14, 2010 at 7:45 am #

      Deleted that other comment for you ;)

      Oh – I can’t wait to chat blog world with you in person either! …not to mention everything else! So excited that this all came together soooo quickly!

      Thanks for the compliments on the layout – I love it! I think it’s the first time that I’ve been completely happy with my layout. Now to just get back to regular blogging – I don’t know why I’m having such a tough time with that one…

Leave a Reply

