Chilli, Cabbage, Cauliflower, Broccoli…oops, sorry.

22 Sep

So clearly I haven’t quite gotten myself onto a regular blogging schedule, but give me a little slack for the next couple of days *cough*weeks*cough* and I will definitely get back on track.

Yesterday (see, at least I didn’t say ‘last week’), I got home after work and all I could think of was:

a) I was absolutely exhausted

b) I could eat my arm

So I set my keys and my purse down and immediately went foraging for something that would enable me to keep my arm intact.

I came up with some of Todd’s homemade chilli (I’ll post that recipe next time he – or I – make it) with some melted mozzarella and shredded cabbage on a sundried tomato focaccia.  Random, eh?  heh, I said eh…  :)

IMG_3689

It might have been random, but it was delicious and exactly what I needed.  Clearly my lunch must have been a little light on the protein and fat.

IMG_3691

Look at those gorgeous hunks of sundried tomato!!!  …just wish that the focaccia was made with whole grains…

IMG_3692

Once I finished eating, I realized that I had the whole evening ahead of me and no plans.  A night with absolutely no plans?  Sign me up!

After tidying up the house, getting my clothes and lunch together for the next day (yep, I do that all the night before – I like to be very organized in the morning), and pushing away my exhaustion, I decided to take another look in the fridge.

No, I wasn’t hungry already, I wanted to see if inspiration hit.  And it did.  The weekend before I had gone to the market and picked up a cauliflower for a mere $1.69.  It was gorgeous.  Oh, and it was 5 pounds!!!  The vendor actually joked around with me that he should charge me by the pound for it.  Ummm, no.

I had been hacking chunks off of it for lunch for the past several days, but hadn’t even made a dent.  Knowing that I would eventually have to eat again (I’d like to call my chilli sandwich, my after school work snack), I decided to make two cauliflower dishes.  Also knowing that I do love leftovers…

First up,

Mashed Cauliflower

IMG_3693

Start with a head of cauliflower (in my case, it was most of a head of cauliflower)

IMG_3694

Chop it into floret size, to enable it to cook faster.  Add a cup of chicken stock, 2 cloves of garlic and a 1/4 tsp to a 1/2 tsp of salt.  Cook until the cauliflower is tender.

IMG_3711

Add in 1/2 cup of milk, 1 tbsp of butter.  And that’s it!!!!  Mash it with a potato masher, or put in the food processor (I use this) and puree it to your preferred density.  That’s right, I brought out the high school words… ‘density’  :)

Doesn’t it look delicious?  And completely like mashed potatoes?

IMG_3727

I’ll list the ingredients at the end of the post…

While I was making the mashed cauliflower, I was also making one of my other favourite dishes.  This doesn’t have a name, I just add whatever I have on hand, but it always starts with an eggplant, cubed and then steamed.

IMG_3695

This time I added in some broccoli and cauliflower (because I had soooo much), which I steamed separately.

IMG_3696

Speaking of steam…

IMG_3697

And added in some chopped garlic…

IMG_3701

And some soy sauce.  I like the Kikkoman for the flavour and VH for the saltiness, so I use a little of both.  I also don’t drain the water in the bottom of the pan and between that, a couple of tablespoons of this,

IMG_3704

And about a tablespoon of this,

IMG_3703

(mixed together with a little water)

IMG_3705

You end up with a delicious and simple sauce.  The amount of soy sauce you use to the amount of vegetables you have, doesn’t leave it salty – just tasty.

IMG_3706

mmmmmmm…

IMG_3710

Oh wait – I forgot one last thing!!!!

IMG_3715

Along with having to use  the cauliflower up, I also had some sprouts in the fridge that I’d already cooked and wanted to use.

IMG_3716

Yum!!!

IMG_3728

And altogether, for my actual dinner.

Kind of looks like beef stirfry and potatoes… weird…

IMG_3723 IMG_3724

Tonight I decided to keep it VERY simple…

*Actually I fell down a few stairs today as I was leaving my house in the rain and really jarred my back (major back issues here), and had no desire to spend a second in the kitchen that I didn’t have to*

IMG_3729

Part of a multigrain baguette with pizza sauce, mushrooms, green peppers, spinach, garlic, oregano and cheeesssseeee….

IMG_3732

Under the broiler and then slapped together submarine style… Mmmmm…

IMG_3734

Ooey Gooey… and words could not describe this….  sdkflkshlskd   see?

I added Frank’s Buffalo sauce to half and it was so good that I added it to the other half too.  And enjoyed every single bite.

Tomorrow will likely be some sort of concoction as I need to use up alll sorts of leftovers.  I’m not one to throw anything out.  When in doubt, freeze it.  You can freeze just about anything (although you might need to use it in a different manner).

Have a great night!

Mashed Cauliflower

1 head of cauliflower
2 garlic cloves
1 cup of chicken stock
1/4 –1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup milk
1 tbsp butter

Cut the cauliflower into florets.  Place in large pot with the stock, garlic and salt.  Cook until cauliflower is tender.  Add milk and butter.  Use a masher or food processor to puree cauliflower mixture to desired texture.  Awesome with a little bit of black pepper cracked on top.

Easy!  Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Chilli, Cabbage, Cauliflower, Broccoli…oops, sorry.”

  1. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad September 22, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    I love mashed cauliflower. Such a good way to add some veggies to the diet. I’m also digging your toasted submarine sammie!

  2. Simply Life September 26, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    Oh that mashed cauliflower looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

