I wouldn’t Trade Joe for the world…

15 Sep

Today I had a fantastic day at work.  It went quickly, I got a lot done and there were very few mistakes made by other people that affected me.  That’s sounds like a successful day to me!

I started this morning off with a Green Monster and a piece of 12 grain with an egg puck.  This (or oats instead of the toast and egg) is my usual go-to breakfast, and has been for about 6 months – ever since I tried my first Green Monster (which I make my way and will share my recipe soon – unfortunately I ran out of spinach today :(  booooo!)!

However, I’ve noticed with the last couple of mornings, I’ve been coughing (blech, asthma) as I’m walking from my car through the parking lot into work.  The cold air does make me cough, but it’s only cool right now.  I’m wondering if it’s the combination of the cool air and the coldness of the Green Monster (which I drink in my car, on the way to work) that’s irritating my asthma and causing me to cough…  Oh how I hope I’m wrong…  What will I do all winter???

Onto happier thoughts, look at what I had for lunch…

IMG_3628

It’s butternut squash and chickpea (yes, chickpea) soup and it was absolutely delicious!  The recipe is actually at the end of this post.  I hope you try it out – it’s soooo easy, not to mention hearty and tasty!

Dinner tonight was brought to you by Trader Joe’s.  But, wait a minute… don’t I live in Canada?  Trader Joe’s isn’t in Canada!  …and what a shame that is…  I actually live in Windsor, Ontario, which is right on the border with Detroit, Michigan.  So every 8 weeks or so, we make the 50 minute (including border crossing time…it could be muuuuch longer) trek to Northville, MI and enjoy every minute.  I just wish that this particular Trader Joe’s was larger.

Dinner was chicken breast marinated in Trader Joe’s Soyaki, grilled vegetables (thanks for grilling Todd!) with a mix of red onions, red peppers, broccoli and button mushrooms.  On the side is my favourite grain mix – Trader Joe’s brown rice, black barley and daikon radish seed medley.  It’s amazing and if you haven’t tried it – you should!

IMG_3648

Doesn’t that look delicious?  After the picture I put Trader Joe’s (it’s a little bit of a love affair…) mustard garlic aioli on the chicken.  Mmmmm.

I have to wonder why people mainly eat processed stuff out of boxes (of course, in moderation, anything is fine…), when real food not only looks this delicious, but tastes even better.

And speaking of real food,

Butternut Squash and Chickpea Soup

This soup is tasty and filling, being as it has a protein punch!  It starts out with the star of the show, a 2-3 pound butternut squash.  Ignore my fuelbelt bottles in the pic – that’s where I let them dry out after a run.

IMG_3596

This baby was crazy hard to peel, I felt like I had won a small war once I was done.  *I swear the rest is easy!*

IMG_3604

All chopped into cubes…or cube-like shapes :)

IMG_3605

Next up, chop a small onion.  Grab a large pot, melt the butter over medium heat and cook the onion until translucent and soft.

I should have written “take a picture” into the instructions.  Oops.

In the same pot, once the onions are ready, put in your stock and the squash that you’ve cubed.

IMG_3606

Pretty, no?

IMG_3607

Next up, add the chickpeas to the mix, but be sure that you rinse your chickpeas really well.  If you don’t, it’s not only kind of gross, but it also changes the taste of the chickpeas.

IMG_3617

Everyone in the pool!  Simmer the soup for about 20 minutes, or until the squash is tender.  Once the squash is tender, take the pot off the stove and allow the soup to cool.

IMG_3618

The soup is cool enough for your blender when there’s no steam coming from it.  I actually broke the glass part of my blender this past winter, because my soup was too hot (and I *thought* it was cooled!), great way to ruin your blender, your day, and a batch of soup.

This is actually when I add in Greek yogurt.  I’m sure you could add it in when the soup is hot, but it kind of creeps me out adding the cold dairy yogurt to the hot soup….and so I wait until it is cool.

IMG_3619

I use about a cup (a cup of precious Greek yogurt that I can’t find ANYWHERE in my city!!!).

IMG_3621

Mix it all together and pour into your blender (in batches of course, no one has a blender that big! …Wow, that size of blender would be loud…).  Blend, pulse or puree to your desired smoothness.

IMG_3623

I like mine pureed until it is completely smooth.  Yum.  Hope you like it!

IMG_3628

Ingredients

1 butternut squash (peeled and seeded), 2-3 pounds
1 1/2 Tbsp butter
1 small onion
6 cups of chicken stock
1 19oz can of chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
1 cup Greek yogurt
Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions

After peeling and seeding your butternut squash, but it into 1 inch chunks.  In a large pot, melt the butter, and cook your onions over medium heat until they are softened and translucent.  Add your stock, chickpeas and squash to the pot and bring to a simmer.  Cook until the squash is tender, about 20 minutes.  Take the pot off the burner and allow to cool.  Leave until you see no steam when you stir the pot.  Add in the Greek yogurt and stir.  Pour into blender and puree until at your desired smoothness.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy!!!

2 Responses to “I wouldn’t Trade Joe for the world…”

  1. Suzanne September 19, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    I just discovered the awesomeness that is Trader Joe’s on a recent trip to Wisconsin. Oh my goodness! I really wish I lived closer to the border!

    The soup sounds fantastic, I’m going to try it out this week but with navy beans since DH has a reaction to chick peas.

    I feel your asthma troubles. I’m asthmatic too and running out this this week has really had me coughing, wheezing and that lovely burning sensation at the top of the lungs.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Looks can be deceiving… « - September 19, 2010

    […] eating (and loving!) the Butternut Squash and Chickpea Soup that I made a few days […]

Leave a Reply

