Uh, where’d they go???

31 Mar

Remember yesterday when I made a little joke that I needed to hide all of the extra chicken bakes in the back of the fridge, so that I’ be able to take some for lunch today?  Well this is what I saw when I opened the container this morning:

@?#?$  Are you kidding me?  He ate them all!!!  Save for one of course…  There were probably 7 or 8 in the container when I went to bed at 10.  And this is what I found when I got up at 630.  Todd gets home (when he’s on afternoons) at 1130 – apparently he’s hungry at this time!

I talked to him at lunch and he said, “They were good!”  Well, I would hope that if you ate them all, that it would be good at least!  He then continued, “There were two containers of them, weren’t there?”   I informed him there were not and he replied, “*crickets**crickets* Oh.”

Although I can’t believe he ate so many of them, at least they were enjoyed!

Since I couldn’t have cereal or oatmeal for breakfast ( maybe tomorrow I’ll have oats made with water…never done that before….), I decided to use the lonely chicken bake and have a nice savoury breakfast sandwich.

This is a toasted one bun (because all bread products are soooooo much better toasted!) with one lonely chicken bake, coarse mustard, alfalfa sprouts, spinach and a little italian dressing.  Not what most people would enjoy for breakfast, but I loved it!  Besides, it has everything I wanted – veggies, protein and whole grains.  Mmmmmm….

These two googly-eyed lookin apples were my morning and afternoon snacks.  They were delicious and somehow I don’t see this apple obsession going away anytime soon.  I had about 9 almonds with each one of them.

If an apple a day keeps the doctor away, what do two do?  :)  Well apparently they leave you hungry.  After my morning apple and almond snack I was still VERY hungry.  I tried to drink more water and to wait out the time before lunch, but it just wasn’t happening, So I busted this guy out of my lunch bag.  He doesn’t look very happy to see me…

Aka – hard boiled egg.  Todd is so creative (read: silly).  I’d like to say that this hit the spot, but I was literally counting the minutes until I got to eat lunch.  My brain was picturing nice heavy meatloaf and mashed potatoes to hit the spot, but I actually had:

Leek, lima bean and cauliflower soup.  SO easy and SO good.  I also had a few sweet potatoes and kabocha squash,

Not quite the mashed potatoes that I was fantasizing about – but even better in their own way!

And my lunch is never complete without my grapefruit,

I should post a video of how efficiently I can attack these things with a grapefruit knife…  Hmmm, now there’s a thought.

I was famished all afternoon – apple and almonds didn’t hit the spot then either.  Maybe I should re-examine my apple obsession…

When I was sitting at my desk watching the minutes tick away, all I could think about was my delicious almond butter and chocolate chip one bun from yesterday.  I decided to forego the one bun today and get to the heart of the flavour,

With peanut butter today,

It’s almost like the peanut butter is shining!  I guess this snack was meant to be  :)

After this was demolished (it tasted just like peanut butter chocolate eggs…), I started grazing on a couple bites of stir fry, a bite of lasagna, a rice cracker, a piece of cheese… and I realized that I had to stop.  I love eating just one or two bites of a bunch of things – but it can get dangerous (calorie wise – not nutrition wise, I don’t really have junk in my house so that’s not the issue) if I’m not really paying attention.

So instead of mindlessly eating bits, I put a plate together of bits and am calling it supper.

Bread and butter pickles, carrots, jalapeno pepperjack, vegetable rice crackers (on a small plate…)

And then after I took the picture, I peeled a hard boiled egg and added it…

And then after I took the picture, I decided that some alfalfa sprouts would complete the portrait:

It always reminds me of hair.  Delicious, fresh tasting hair…

I made this plate bout two hours ago.  I knew that I was really focusing on the food and the process of eating – but I really wasn’t giving my tummy time to digest and maybe I wasn’t as hungry right then as I thought.  I guess I was right, because I’m just getting ready to eat it now.  There will be coarse mustard, vinegar and ranch dressing involved – I’m sure of it  ;)

What is your go-to snack when you’re absolutely famished?

Hope you have a great night!

2 Responses to “Uh, where’d they go???”

  1. Kelly April 1, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    A PB&J sandwich. When I am that hungry I need something that is quick and fast so I don’t go nuts and eat everything in sight!

  2. beyondbennett April 5, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Usually PB&J on whole wheat, but lately it’s been cereal, milk and 1/2 banana.

Leave a Reply

