What, you don’t call them Chicken Bakes???

30 Mar

Hiya!

Breakfast today was portable, but for once this wasn’t out of necessity (re:  running waaayy late).   It’s because I’m having no milk, kefir, or yogurt for the next 3 days.  That’s about as long as I can go dairy-free  :)   I’m doing a long run on Friday (11miles) and my last long run was such a disaster and disappointment that I decided to prepare as I would for a race.  That means, no dairy for at least 3 full days before the run.  I find that this really helps with the mucus in my lungs (tmi!), my breathing is slightly better and my asthma is less prominent.  So long story short, this kinda makes my favourite breakfasts limited right now.

But how could you not want this:  toasted tomato sandwich on 12-grain.  Doesn’t she (yes, she) look tasty?!?  Strange that both pieces of bread were the same size but totally don’t look it…

It was right about here that my day kinda went downhill.

I got out to my car and realized that I actually had to scrape my windows!  It was crazy foggy and apparently this was ice fog – hence  the scraping.   Ugh – I thought I was done with all of that…

After I got in the car, I carefully drove through the fog for a few minutes and realized that I had to stop at a mailbox to mail some work stuff.  No problem, there was a mailbox right ahead.  When I reached across the seat to grab the mail, I realized that there was something missing.  My lunch  :(

I drove back home through the fog and grabbed my lunch – which was in the same spot that it’s always in and don’t know how I forgot it…

So off to work I went.  Right past Tim’s.  There was no time to stop for caffeine now.  Boo.  No caffeine for the second day in a row.  Not a big deal to me – I don’t really feel like I “need” to have caffeine to wake up.  I do love the taste of coffee though and really could have gone for some tasty java today.

The morning went incredibly slow and was one of those days where I was waiting for people to do things/answer questions and I couldn’t do my work until they’d done theirs.  Blah.  I ate one of these apples around 1030 and the other around 3.  I don’t remember the banana actually making it into my lunch bag- lol!

A fruity smile  :)

The rest of the morning dragged by and as I was tidying up before lunch, I felt my hair fall down.  Huh?  My hair elastic broke.  Seriously, I didn’t actually realize that that could even happen!  I went into my desk drawer to grab another elastic…nope.  None left.  Crap.  You know the way your hair looks when you’ve had it up and now it’s down – ew.  Add to that, the fact that I’m always smoothing the flyaways, so it looks greasy too.  So annoying.

Something that isn’t annoying – Todd cooking.  I had some of his homemade lasagna for lunch.

A little blurry – but definitely tasty!  And some very fresh tasting red peppers.  I seem to be in a red pepper trend right now – but I see nothing wrong with that  :)

Who wouldn’t want to eat vegetables when they look that gorgeous!?!?

Fruit can be gorgeous too,

It’s like a rising sun…  Meaning, it’s crazy dark outside when I pack my lunch in the morning!

The afternoon dragged just like the morning did.  And how is it possible, that when you’re having a crappy day, that everyone wants to load more and more work on you?  Coincidence?  Better be!  It didn’t help that I was doing the most monotonous task today – picture the fun of folding paystubs and stuffing them into envelopes.  This process is about an hour and a half or so and makes me want to just throw them in the garbage.  Hmmmm, I think I’d have a lot of inquiries on pay day if I did that…

While I was trying to limit my paper cuts for the day, I was dreaming of this beauty,

My mouth is watering just looking at this.  Half of a toasted one bun with almond butter and semi-sweet chocolate chips.  Let’s just say that I was glad there was no one else home – I was a little vocal about my love for this :)

This yummy treat gave me the energy I needed to spend some time in the kitchen.  I made leek, lima bean and cauliflower soup; kale chips; roasted kabocha; roasted sweet potato and chicken bakes (chicken fingers just sound so bad for you and when it’s chicken breast hand breaded with whole wheat bread crumbs by yours truly, I get to call them what I want  :P)

Don’t those chicken bakes look phenomenal???  So yummy and so worth the effort.  I’m hoping that the leftovers are hidden well enough in the fridge and I can take them for lunch tomorrow  ;)

Sweet potatoes are so pretty – don’t they kinda look like a flower?  Oh, just me?

And my whole meal altogether now.  I had kabocha and added some raw carrots because I just didn’t think that my plate was orange enough  :)

Ok – now the Biggest Loser is on and I have a pile of dishes to do….see you tomorrow!!!

2 Responses to “What, you don’t call them Chicken Bakes???”

  1. Kelly March 31, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Sorry the day started so badly…but it looks like it ended well…that dinner looks awesome! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Uh, where’d they go??? « Flybynyght - March 31, 2010

    […] where’d they go??? Posted on March 31, 2010 by flybynyght Remember yesterday when I made a little joke that I needed to hide all of the extra chicken bakes in the back of the […]

Leave a Reply

