You’ve got one chance, one opportunity…

23 Mar

Happy Tuesday!  Well, today’s post will be a little different…camera died and I have no breakfast or lunch pics!  The batteries needed to be recharged and I didn’t have the time to search around and find fresh ones.  So, no pics for you!

Remember my cereal issues?  Well, today I had yummy kamut cereal with peanut butter, chia seeds, dried cherries, 1/2 banana, cinnamon, kefir and skim milk.

How did I like it?  Well, the kamut was VERY light, but it was also VERY tasty.  I do feel like I need some sort of flake (or something of the sort) to add to this – it just needed more crunch (more than just the chia seeds).  I also found that the kefir didn’t complement this quite the way it has all of my other cereal choices…again, I think some kind of flake would alleviate this…

Before the batteries decided that they needed a day off,

Very, very tasty red pepper.  Along with this I had about a 3/4 cup of the leftover rotini from last night with a very small amount of steak chopped up in it.  I also put an ounce of the onion and chives cheese, the leftover swiss chard and a huge handful of spinach.  It ended up being more spinach than anything else – but that is not a problem in my books  :)  It did however, leave me a little hungry.

Of course, I ate my grapefruit,

However, still hungry.  I ate the apple about an hour afterward (and the banana in the morning).  About an hour before leaving work (glad to do that today! Leave, I mean…) I had 6 almonds and thought that I’d probably be ok until after the gym.  I had to stop at home to get clothes (I didn’t have time to find batteries, so I definitely didn’t have time to get gym clothes together!) and it was a good thing, because if I hadn’t come home I wouldn’t have made it at the gym.  I needed more food!  I ate a few little bites of bread and cheese – trying to manoeuvre the balance of hunger and too much food in the tummy to work out.

My workout went really well.  It’s funny, because I decided that I was going to go today and do my normal things more or less, but lower the intensity.  I wanted to save my legs for my 8 mile run that I want to do tomorrow (8 miles is a long run for me).

***Ok, I don’t know if it’s because I can basically see Detroit from my house, or whatever, but every time I hear or write ‘8 mile’ I can’t help but sing the beginning of the song by Eminem…***

But of course that didn’t happen.  If I’m working out, I’m doing it right!  Why go to the gym if you’re just going to half-ass it? …Although I must say, I see TONS of people who do just that… argh!  Must try not to judge!  I don’t know who these people are, or what their goals are!

Anyway, I did 20 mins on the Elliptical, 15 mins backward and 15 mins doing random hills at level 9 on the bike.  I was a sweaty mess when I was done.  Sweaty and tired, so happy to just make something simple for myself for supper,

This is two whole wheat tortillas with a *very* small amount of steak from last night, red peppers, pepper jack cheese, ranch, southwest mustard, broccoli and boat loads of spinach (can you tell I’ve been buying the huge bags from Costco each week :P).  I could have easily fit everything into one tortilla and saved the extra calories, but tortillas in the panini press = yumalicious.

I also had some of the leftover shrimp from last night as a side,

Can shrimp really *be* a side dish?  Well, it was for me and I had it with a pat of butter, lots of garlic and some oregano.  Wow shrimp, you rocked my world.

Well, since I seem to have so few pictures today, I thought I’d add a few that I took 2 weeks ago when we were in Burlington to run the Chilly Half Marathon.

This is a pic of the hotel *beside* the hotel where the expo was.  If you look closely, you can see just how dilapidated it is…

Pretty broken down.

But the best part?  The front of the hotel…

OMG!!!!!  Seriously, it was OPEN!!!! Wow, you would have to be pretty down and out to need to stay somewhere like that.  Thanking my lucky stars that I have a roof over my head, food in my belly and although I don’t have a lot of money – I’m far from being desperate.

And on a ‘hope springs eternal’ kinda vibe, there was an artist painting the hotel,

From what we could see, it was of the hotel in better times.

Wow, wish I could be artistic in that way – always wished that I could draw or paint (more than just straight lines :P).  And if I could paint, I’d like to use this cutie as my muse

And speaking of water….eh, you like how I did that?  A pic of water, talk about water…  :)   Anyway, Project Hydrate has completely been a success for me and again I was able to drink the amount that I like to drink in a day:  7 mugs (about 12 oz each) throughout my workday (over 8.5 hours), 40 oz (but not a 40 ouncer :P) at the gym and another 20 oz when I got home.  Oh, and have I said that I feel fantastic?  Because I do!

Ok – Biggest Loser is on!!!

Night all!

One Response to “You’ve got one chance, one opportunity…”

  1. Kelly March 24, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    I loved how happy this post was! I could feel your enthusiam! :)

    Oh and shrimp…totally acceptable as a side dish!! Look delish! :)

Leave a Reply

