If I wanted water, I’d ask for water!!!

22 Mar

So our story picks up at yesterday’s lunch :)

Todd and I were out getting groceries, so didn’t eat lunch until late, which Todd prepared.  This monstrous creation is a giant panini, made with an olive and rosemary focaccia,

It had red peppers, roasted red peppers, chipotle peppers (we like our peppers!), the rest of the pulled pork (naked) and garlic sauce.  I added a big handful of spinach to mine.  Todd cut this in half and I ate 2/3 of one of the halves – which would be 1/3 of the whole thing if you’re going for your lowest common denominator :)

We decided to eat this outside while we watched the NASCAR race.  The deck in March in Canada?  Hmmm…amazing that there’s no snow!  The sun was out, but so was the wind, and it was brutal when it blowed (blew?).  We’re troopers though and had a great time.  Along with our panini (mine is the one that is still open), we had multigrain pita chips and homemade guac.  Yum.

It’s like our living room, but outside :)

Dinner was going to be steak and shrimp, but as we had eaten so late in the afternoon, we decided to wait until the next night to have it and enjoy it more.  Instead we nibbled on the leftover cabbage rolls from the day before (sorry – it escaped my camera!).  That’s right, the cabbage rolls didn’t even make it into the freezer.  I could say that I’m surprised, but I’m totally not.  ;)

We ended up going to bed early and somehow I still woke up feeling like I could use more sleep.  And for some reason, I couldn’t get apple juice out of my head.  Luckily, I actually had some!

I grabbed this at the Chilly Half Marathon and never drank it – it sure came in handy today!

Remember all of my excitement over getting *real* cereal?  Well, this morning I  totally didn’t leave enough time to eat any!  Tomorrow, I guess.  Instead I had this yumminess,

2 pieces of 12-grain toast with peanut butter, a banana and cinnamon.  I took it to work with me and ate it at my desk.  Well, I took the bananas off and ate them and then ate the toast separate – good decision.

Because I ate an hour or so later than I normally would, I felt no need to have a morning snack.  By lunch though, I was more than ready to chow down on the last remaining cabbage roll.

There was so much yummy sauce, that I toasted an extra piece of 12-grain and dipped it in.

Damn, that toast looks yummy   :)

Since there wasn’t much cabbage, I upped the veggie quota with some cucumber

This tasted ick – like fridge – or something.  I couldn’t really place it, and really didn’t want to think about it too much.

I also had 6 little pieces of this brick onion and chives cheese.  We buy these cheese ends as a great way to try different cheeses that we haven’t had before.  Small amount = small commitment if you don’t happen to like it!

And yes, I still had room for my daily grapefruit :)

I brought an apple and banana for snacks, but only ate the apple.  I ate it and about 9 almonds an hour before I would be at the gym.

Doesn’t this apple look absolutely delicious?  Well, it wasn’t.  It had absolutely no flavour.  It tasted like water.  If I wanted water, I’d have water! …which I had lots of.  In fact, as I’ve been participating in Project Hydrate, I’ve noticed that my water consumption is back to where I like it.  I had about 84 oz of water throughout the workday (which is just over 10 cups).

At the gym (and after) I drank another 60 oz.  And boy did I need it – I sweated my butt off (which sorta is the reason for the workout :P).  I did 20 mins on the elliptical, 10 mins backward, and 20 mins of random hills at level 9 on the bike.  Very high intensity today and it felt great.  So did my shower :)

For dinner, we had the meal that we were going to have last night,

Steak with mushrooms, shrimp (mmmm…), rotini with Todd’s homemade sauce and swiss chard.  This was awesome.  We haven’t had shrimp in quite a while and this was my first time ever having swiss chard.  It was a lot milder than I thought that it would be, but I would definitely have it again soon!

After dinner, I decided to hunker down with the tv.  I was still peckish, so had this perfect snack,

Hot air popped popcorn!  …with about a half a tablespoon of butter.  It was delicious.  I made enough to share with Todd, but he didn’t want any, so I most of it myself!!!

Now I’m off to relax a little before bedtime – night!!!

2 Responses to “If I wanted water, I’d ask for water!!!”

  1. Kelly March 23, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    What a yummy day!! :)

  2. According To C March 24, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    what kind of air popper do you have? I’m asking for a new one for x-mas (I start my list early). Mine is from c.1985 (if not earlier). I fear it will one day catch on fire…

Leave a Reply

