I wanna get physical, physical!!!

21 Mar

I woke up Saturday morning and could smell bacon.  Mmmmm.  But at the same time, it kinda meant that my long run that I had planned was thrown out the window!  However, it was already cooked, and sometimes bacon just wins ;)

IMG_2324 This is two pieces of bacon with scrambled eggs and mixed peppers on a toasted one bun.  There was also a small piece of cheddar that I crumbled on it.  On the side is some pan fried potatoes and a boat load of ketchup.  It was even better than it looks.  And if you don’t think it looks good, well – it was.

I didn’t want to give up on physical activity altogether though, so watched some crappy tv while I waited 3 hours for my meal to digest.  I figured this should be long enough.  I was wrong.  I decided to do a 3 mile run and end up at the gym.  About 5 miles into my run I felt horrible.  This continued for the entirety.  Lesson learned, no bacon before running.  Duh.

I live within a half mile of my gym, so I planned my route to pass by my house before I got to the gym.  This way I could pick up my backpack with clean socks, a t-shirt (I was running in a long sleeve), my water bottle, lock, etc., which I had placed in one of my recycle bins – so I could just grab it as I was running.  I should have thought to actually put some water in the bottle, because I definitely could have used it (damn you delicious dairy!).

I got to the gym and realized that I had no ID and I forgot my swipe card to get in.  Luckily the girl at the desk has seen me a zillion times and let me in.  I had a really good, high intensity end to my workout, I did 20 minutes forward on the elliptical, 10 minutes backward and 10 minutes of random hills on the bike. 

By the time I was leaving, I was a very sweaty mess.  Unfortunately, because I didn’t drive to the gym, I obviously had to walk home.  The wind had kicked up and it is March in Canada, so that means that it was brutally cold.  My body was ok, but my head and my face were ice. It took me HOURS to feel warm again.

When I got home, Todd decided that he felt like swimming (unlike me, Todd did a 7.5 mile run on that breakfast – and had no issues…) and found a place that had open swimming.  It was a 45 minute drive away, but it was a nice day for a drive, so we thought – why not!

Since I didn’t have my regular breakfast, I decided to have some cereal for a late lunch,

IMG_2337

This is Post Selects Blueberry (for the second last last time – yay!) with half a banana, dried cherries, chia seeds, peanut butter, cinnamon, kefir, skim milk (added after the pic) and the last of my greek yogurt :(  It hit the spot perfectly.

On the way to the pool, I sent my Mom and Dad a text to see if they had any plans for the evening.  They didn’t so we decided to get together after swimming and play some cards.  Their town wasn’t really on the way, but what’s a small detour when you drive 45mins to go swimming?  :)

The pool was nice – it had a hot tub (I called it a warm tub – I was STILL frozen from my walk home) that was connected right to the pool, so you swam from the hot tub and right into the pool – no need to actually get out.  We swam and hot-hubbed for about an hour and a half and had a great time just swimming around and watching the kids attempting to dive and cannon ball off of the diving board.

After getting cleaned up, we made the half hour drive to my parent’s condo and enjoyed the beautiful sunshine.  My Mom asked if we’d be wanting to have a meal or just snacks, and not wanting to put her out, I said just snacks.  Well, she figured that we’d be famished after swimming (we were) and overrode my decision and made this tasty goodness,

1 Homemade cabbage rolls and hash brown casserole.  Yum.  She also had shrimp, crackers, cheese, and cut up veggies.  Not bad for a couple hours notice  :)  Because she’s my Mom, she had to send me home with leftover cabbage rolls.  Oh darn.  They’ve gone into the freezer and will make an appearance in a week or so I’d assume.  Maybe sooner ;)

After dinner, I was too tired to concentrate on cards, so we played crokinole instead.  It was fun – something I rarely play.  Shortly after we made the trek home.  Once home, I checked my email and went directly to bed. T.I.R.E.D.

I slept fantastically, but woke up tired.  Not sleepy tired, but body tired.  I decided that if I were going to go to the gym, I’d better do it right away.  I got dressed in my gym clothes (no changing my mind then…) and ate this,

IMG_2338Post Selects Blueberry (for the last time ever!  Yay – new cereal tomorrow!) with raisins, craisins, walnuts, 1/2 banana, kefir, an almond butter peanut butter spoon (a la Whit) and after the pic was taken, skim milk, chia seeds and cinnamon.

I went to the gym and had a good workout.  20 mins on the elliptical, 10 mins backward and 10 mins of hills on the bike – all while watching Sunday Morning on CBS (I love that show!  …and I had forgotten my Zune).

When I got back home, I made this strange concoction,

IMG_2341A piece of 12-grain toast with pulled pork and peas mixed with garlic sauce and red peppers on top.  Ya, weird.  It was good though and I polished it right off.  Now Todd and I are off to the market and the grocery store and Costco.  Yay – more grocery shopping!  See you later…

9 Responses to “I wanna get physical, physical!!!”

  1. Whole Body Love March 21, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    I am a huge fan of 80’s music …although I was born in 1985 :) As soon as I saw the post, I started picturing the Olivia Newton John video lol

    • flybynyght March 21, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

      hahahaha! I’m 1978 myself (wow 70’s really? :P) But that’s exactly what I was goin for – a little Olivia Newton John … btw – love your blog :)

  2. Gracie March 21, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    I was instantly pleased with this post when the first thing I saw was BACON, hehe. Sorry to hear it didn’t make for a good workout, though :/

  3. Kelly March 22, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    Um…bacon before a run…I couldn’t have done it either! haha!

    • flybynyght March 22, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

      Ya, I have no idea what Todd was thinking!! Although, it didn’t bother him in the least bit and he said he actually had a great run! Men! :)

  4. whydeprive March 22, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    I have a hard time running after oatmeal! I would never make it after having bacon!

    • flybynyght March 22, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

      Seriously! The next time I smell bacon cooking – I’ll go run, let Todd make everything and clean up, then I’ll re-heat and then eat! Lesson learned! I did think I’d be ok, waiting so long though…

  5. ellie March 22, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    I was literally sipping a cup of tea reading this post when your comment landed in my inbox…nice to ‘meet’ you!

    I am trying to figure out what foods are best pre-workout…someone suggested to me that protein isn’t ideal (I eat high protein stuff) so will keep the bacon breakfasts for after! :D

    Sounds like a very active day- congrats!

  6. beyondbennett March 23, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    Okay, just did the treadmill and the last thing I needed to see was your mom’s cabbage rolls AND hash brown casserole. I nearly cried… And I could almost taste it…best EVER really… mmm….

Leave a Reply

