Shortbread, Oreos and chocolate chip oh my!!!

18 Mar

I woke up this morning feeling a bit like a zombie.  But nothing an awesome bowl of cereal can’t help, right?

Post Selects Blueberry with dried cherries, walnuts, peanut butter, greek yogurt, kefir, skim milk and lots of yum  :)

I actually did feel a little more human after eating this.  I am completely a morning person and am the most productive during the first hours after I get up.  I didn’t quite feel like a morning person today – but stopping at Tim’s on the way to work for a large regular definitely helped the morning along.

Next thing I know, my stomach is growling and I’m shocked to see that it’s already 11 o’clock!  I love when the day goes faster than you’re expecting!  I grabbed the red pepper from my snack supply in my lunch bag and cut it into strips at my desk.

I ended up eating some of the baby carrots with my lunch, but throwing most of them away.  They didn’t taste right.  Not quite sure what was wrong with them, but they were off somehow…

I also packed the exact same thing for lunch as yesterday – it was THAT good.

This is a leftover enchilada with about a half a cup of black beans, salsa and fat free sour cream.  The bread bag is actually FULL of spinach that I mixed together with the enchilada mix when after it was heated.  YUM.  And of course, I finished lunch off with a grapefruit (that wasn’t very good actually…).

Although the afternoon didn’t fly by, it did go by at a good pace and before I knew it, it was 3 o’clock (fyi, I work until 4…)!  I ate the banana from above and a hand full of almonds from my desk.  This wasn’t to fuel for the gym – today was Blood Donation Day!  Todd and I give blood every 56 days (that’s how often you’re allowed to give blood in Canada).  Why do we do this?  Because we can.  If everyone gave blood that was able to, there would never be a shortage, sadly they have shortages all the time.  I’m not a fan of needles, but it doesn’t hurt, and you get cookies at the end!

I got home and Todd and I walked to the Blood Donor Clinic – because it’s only a 10 minute walk away and because it was a beautiful day!  After all of the paperwork was done, I was seated (laid?) next to Todd and even though his blood donation started before mine, I finished first!!!  This has never happened before – I routinely take 5 mins or so longer than him!  I’ll attribute this to Project Hydrate :)

I then consumed far too many cookies.  But I only do this every 56 days, right?  :)

When we got home, I had to run around doing a few errands and when I got back, the pulled pork that Todd was making in the crock pot smelled awesome and was nearly done.  I looooove pulled pork with coleslaw, but didn’t think to get any, so I had this instead,

Pulled pork with Sweet Baby Ray’s on 12-grain with peas, mixed peppers, a boat load of spinach and a smidge of ranch dressing.  On the side I had asiago cheese (so little has sooo much flavour!) and the best tasting cucumber I’ve had in months!

As for Project Hydrate, I think I’m doing excellently and I’m back to where I used to be.  This morning I had 3 mugs (about 12oz I think) of water, and the same for this afternoon.  At the blood donor clinic I had an apple juice box, while running my errands I had 20oz  and with dinner I had 20oz.  Now I’m done for the night – otherwise I’ll have to get up during the night.

And speaking of done for the night… G’night!!!

5 Responses to “Shortbread, Oreos and chocolate chip oh my!!!”

  1. beyondbennett March 19, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    Yay! Blood Donor cookies — I can’t believe it’s already time for them. Eesh. Time is flying by! And great job with Project Hydrate, btw. Makes one feel sooo good! (Unless you’re up all night running to the bathroom, then it’s not so cool!) Oh, and the last post, with Miss Moxie? What a doll!! I miss her! (You guys too, of course!)

    I have a kefir question — or two or three… I’m curious, what does it taste like? Is it found with the dairy, like the yoghurts and stuff? What makes it so good for you? Are there different brands? What made you try it? (And yes, I could look this up, but I thought first-hand Fly Knowledge was better…)

    Hope your foot is feeling better! The weather man said yesterday that your neck of the woods and mine were the hottest in Canada yesterday! WHEEE!

  2. Lauren @ Eater not a runner March 19, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    Pulled pork with sweet baby rays??? My favorite! :-)

  3. janetha March 19, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    i love meals that are so good you can eat them over and over and ovvver! happy weekend!

  4. Tamizn March 19, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    Your breakfast looks delish!

    Thanks for stopping by x x

  5. theemptynutjar March 19, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    Nice eats Becky. And I like the layout.

Leave a Reply

