Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!

17 Mar

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!  I actually forgot that it was St. Patrick’s Day and remembered when I was packing my lunch.  I looked down and was surprised to see that I just happened to be wearing green – and not the green shirt that I had originally planned to wear!  Imagine that.

You know, there were a bunch of times today where I thought of things that I wanted to remember for this post.  Did I write them down?  No.  Do I remember them now?  Of course not.

One thing that I do remember and wanted to mention was Anne’s post today where she talks about her eating tips.  This just so happens to pretty much embody my personal eating philosophy.  Check her post out instead of me re-hashing it all – although I’m sure that I’ll talk about the whole thing in depth another day.

Breakfast today was cereal and it was not only great, but I seemed to have accomplished the perfect mixture of milk, greek yogurt and kefir on my cereal (although the pic is pre kefir and milk).

It also had, peanut butter, walnuts and dried cherries.

Here are my snacks,

Well, 2 of the apples and one of the bananas were my snacks.  I had in an apple in the morning and an apple with some almonds in the afternoon.  The banana ended up being eaten with lunch.  Exciting, I know.

In honour of St. Patrick’s Day, I threw a TON of spinach on top of one of our healthier enchiladas from last night’s dinner.  I also added about a half a cup of black beans and some salsa/sour cream mixture.  I topped o’ lunch (sorta like Top o’ the morning… ya, it was a stretch…) with a grapefruit.  Lunch was truly delicious and it really stuck too!  Could be that I ate a banana right afterward too…

I ran around and got very frustrated looking for something that I don’t really need to talk about here, but said item was elusive.  I went to three locations, all three were not open even though they were supposed to be.  Grrrrr.  And now, I’ll get to repeat the performance tomorrow – I hope it’s with better results.

When I eventually got home I was famished.  I decided that I needed to up the green quotient and ate a strange snack of asiago, jalepeno pepper jack, bread and butter pickles and a fist full of spinach.

I made little bitty green sandwiches.

They were quite satisfying and a snack that I will definitely replicate sometime.

I just saw two people walking down the street in green wigs and shamrock ear headbands.  They weren’t moving in the straightest of lines and I hope that they’re going directly to their beds – or at least to their house where I won’t have to worry about their well-being.  Ya, I worry about the health of random passers-by.

So I couldn’t stay away from the cereal today.  Not only did I devour it this morning, but it’s all that I could think about having for dinner.  Todd and I had already decided that it would be a leftover night – this qualifies doesn’t it?  Well, it doesn’t create more leftovers so it must be ok, right?  Looking for cereal justification here…anybody? Janetha seems to understand.  Cereal is not just for breakfast.

Well, at least I switched up the toppings,

This is Post Selects Blueberry (miss my corn flakes…) with peanut butter, chia seeds, cinnamon, walnuts, raisins, craisins, kefir, greek yogurt and skim milk.

Now Todd and I are sitting in the living room enjoying the gorgeous sunshine that is streaming in.  It was beautiful out today.  Todd went for an 8-mile run and I did not.  Not only did I get to do my fruitless running around, but I didn’t get to do any sort of exercise.  My foot is uber-sore and I think that it’s a good idea to give it a rest – save for the walk that Todd and I might take to the neighbourhood bar for a green beer later.

Enjoy your green beer and shamrock shakes responsibly!

4 Responses to “Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!”

  1. Danielle March 17, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    Those people on the street decked out in St. Pattys day gear…are everywhere in college. haha I guess it’s a big holiday? (I guess any excuse to drink)

    I seriously love that fruit basket! We only have one bowl and I can’t fit all my produce in there!

    • flybynyght March 18, 2010 at 7:42 am #

      Would you believe that I actually gave that fruit basket to my Mom and she never used it? They moved recently and I was the lucky recipient of my gift back! :)

  2. Anne P March 18, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Thanks for the shout out! Glad you agreed with the tips :)

  3. Kelly March 18, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    I know I am late…but Happy St. Patrick’s Day! :)

Leave a Reply

