And now she’s a naked doggie!!!

16 Mar

I decided that I’m going to participate in Diana’s Project Hydrate:

Over the last several weeks I have noticed my hydration levels decline and I think that I need to make a conscious decision to drink more.  Conscious decision made.

I drank 5 mugs of water throughout my day at work – which is short of where I used to be, but much better than I’ve been doing lately.  I also drank 40 oz at the gym and 20 oz after dinner.  I spread it out well and am actually *thinking* about drinking.  Thank goodness I love water – I really don’t understand how people don’t like it…

Now onto the food!  Starting with yesterday…

Breakfast was Post Selects Blueberry with raisins, almond butter, walnuts, skim milk and LOTS of kefir. YUM.  I realized that I have eaten cold cereal nearly every day since I’ve discovered Kefir.  I love it!  I honestly can’t get enough of it!  In fact, one day last week I brought cereal for lunch because I knew that I wasn’t going to have enough time to eat cereal for breakfast.

I realized as I was walking out the door that I forgot to take pictures of my lunch…..ooooppps!  As I sit here, I can’t even seem to remember what I ate.  Huh.  I bet it included a grapefruit.  It HAD to have included a grapefruit.  I guess it’s good that I take pictures of my food – otherwise I wouldn’t remember all of these good eats!

And speaking of good eats,

This is two different types of frozen vegetables mixed together, brown rice and porkloin.  Todd bbq’d the porkloin and seasoned it with Montreal Steak Spice.  Great combination – and check out those grill marks :)

After dinner, Todd and I shared this tasty snack – guac, black bean and corn salsa, sharp cheddar, carrots and sweet chili triscuits.  This hit the spot.  I’m not one to eat after dinner very often (although I do find that I do it in spurts), but I kicked my but at the gym (YAY!) and really felt like I needed a few extra calories.

I ate this for lunch one day last  week and with my erratic posting, it’s a beautiful picture that missed it’s debut!  Isn’t it pretty?  It sure was tasty – Sunny side up egg on a bed of spinach, all on 12-grain toast and eventually topped with ketchup.  Yum.

And speaking of spinach,

I caught Todd eating it straight from the fridge!  My kind of hubby (with his hard rock cafe shot glass/glass collection in the background)!

Today started off a little different than most.  We were out of milk.  Oh no!  How was I going to have my kefir cereal?  Well, I improvised,

I had Post Selects Blueberry (because that’s all I seem to have right now…) with half a banana, dried cherries, walnuts, natural PB, greek yogurt and of course, Kefir!  This was interesting.  it wasn’t entirely non-liquidy, but it wasn’t solid like yogurt and cereal would be.  I REALLY liked it!  I felt like I actually tasted the cereal and fixings soooo much more.  I never thought about the milk diluting the flavour before.  I think I’ll be working on perfecting this combination, with some milk added.

Oh, and we had milk.  We had bought some at Costco on Sunday.  I was looking for a plastic container and it was actually the bagged variety.  Ooops.

Here are the snacks I packed for the day,

Clearly I didn’t eat all of the almonds.  My desk drawer needed a refill.  For my morning snack I had one of these apples with about 12 almonds.  My afternoon snack was the other apple (I seem to be craving apples lately, moved on from bananas).  The banana came home with me and went straight into the freezer – kinda beat up.

Lunch was leftovers from last night and some mashed cauliflower.  I froze some last time I made it and then defrosted it in the fridge before I put it in my lunch.  I wasn’t sure how the texture would be – but it was awesome – identical to how it was before it was frozen.  And of course, a grapefruit finished off my meal.

If you haven’t had a grapefruit it in a while, you should have one – they’re fantastic!

After work, Todd and I went to the gym and I kicked my ass again.  I did a total of 30 mins on the elliptical and 15 on the bike.  Doesn’t sound like a ton, but my intensity was VERY high.  I burned nearly 450 calories…  And wow did it feel great.  My foot still doesn’t feel great, but it doesn’t feel worse – I think I’ll try a short little run tomorrow.

When we got home, our groomer called and said that Moxie was ready to be picked up.  I hopped in the shower and had the shortest soap-up of my life.  I went and got Moxie, who left the house looking like this:

To this:

My little naked doggie!  And look, she has eyes!  :)

Todd made dinner while I was picking up the Crimefighter and when I saw it, I was glad that I had gone to the gym!

Now looks can be deceiving.  This is an enchilada, but made with a whole wheat tortilla and stuffed with pork loin, fat free cottage cheese, fat free cream cheese, mixed peppers and black beans.  Of course it is still smothered in green enchilada sauce :)  This was fantastic and better than your normal cheesy and heavy enchiladas.  In full disclosure, I’ll tell you that I actually had another half (!) of one of these with more lettuce.

Before I started posting, I made this:

This is 1 frozen banana, 2/3 cup of frozen greek yogurt (not frozen yogurt, but greek yogurt thrown in the freezer), 2 handfuls of frozen mango and a squirt of chocolate syrup.  This made two good servings and reminded me of orange pineapple ice cream.  Very yum.

And for the cutest pic ever,

Moxie will lay back on Todd’s legs like that and sit as Todd rubs her paws or ears or brushes her.  It is absolutely adorable.

3 Responses to “And now she’s a naked doggie!!!”

  1. Kelly March 17, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    Great pics! I love sunny side up eggs…my husband cringes. But to me there is nothing better than sopping up the runny yolk with some crusty bread….yum!

  2. janetha March 17, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    mmm let’s eat cereal for every meal of the day. ok?

    i love moxie!! WHAT A DOLL!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. St. Patty’s Day 2010 « beyond bennett wellness - March 18, 2010

    […] And lots of water, of course. I never mention my water intake, but after reading about it over at fly’s place, it was in my mind. I use a stainless bottle and just refill it over and over during the day. I […]

Leave a Reply

