This one is not like the others…

5 Mar

So, so, so, so tired!!!!

Just finished packing all of my clothes etc., for the weekend.  It’s hard for me to believe that on Sunday, I’m running my very first half marathon (even though I’ve been talking about it for months!).  The 70lbs heavier me can’t imagine this.  The thing is, the 40-50 lbs lighter me that I will be some day won’t believe that I’m doing this now either!  I like to tease myself that I’m the Slowest Runner Ever, and I am, but I’m also much heavier than *most* of the people who are running this distance.  …and for this accomplishment I’m quite proud!

ok, onto a lighter subject….   (no pun intended!!!  heheheh)

Breakfast is a tomato sandwich on one piece of 12-grain,

And here is a very sleepy, hood wearing, non-make-uped me trying to convince you that this was the best breakfast ever.

Ok, this definitely wasn’t ‘the best ever,’ but it was VERY yummy!!!!  …I can’t believe I put that pic on here…

Behold the snacks for the day:

I ate the apple in the morning and it kicked ass!!! The banana and the carrots went uneaten.  And I’m thinking that I need to take these out of my lunch bag before we leave for the weekend…And the main event,

This is V8 corn and chipotle soup  and it is absolutely (on sale!) amazing!  I really enjoyed it – it was very spicy – but it was great.  I will definitely buy this again.  And what goes best with soup, a sandwich!

This sandwich (low fat ham, lettuce, monterey jack cheese, tomato, mustard, southwest mustard on 12-grain) was the best whole grain vessel that I’ve had in a looooooong time.

In the end, a grapefruit.

Mmmmmm.  I stuck it in of my favourite mugs, just so you could see it…   ;)

After work I went and visited my Mom and Dad  (hi!!!).  We visited for a bit and then we went out for dinner.  I looked at the menu and there was something that was just jumping off the page at me… the chicken fingers and fries!!!  Not my usual restaurant go-to meal, but wow! was it awesome!  It came with the most nutritionally devoid  salad and I could only half-heartedly eat a few bites of it.  It also came with some strange veggies, but they were tasty and I gobbled them up before I started in on the chicken fingers.  Mmmmmmm.  The chicken fingers appeard to be hand made from chicken breast, but of course without asking, who really knows.  I didn’t have my camera and I jus leaned how to send a pic to my email 2 mins ago, so no pics for you!  I had a  solid handful of fries with ketchup and three fingies.  Todd was the beneficiary of the leftovers.

So I’m having a couple of adult bevies, because (truth be told…) I’m nervous about my race already and I need to fall asleep somehow – 3 hour drive tomorrow!!!!  Whew!

4 Responses to “This one is not like the others…”

  1. Kelly March 6, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    I CAN NOT wait to hear the recap! GOODLUCK!!!!

  2. rollerkoesterrun March 6, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    Heck yea girl- embrace that we don’t have to be twigs to run halfs! You’re going to do great, i keep thinking about ya as I remember how anxious I got beforehand. Just relax! You’ve done the training and are going to kick that halfs butt! Can’t wait to hear all about it :)

    ~Christie http://rollerkoesterrun.wordpress.com/

  3. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce March 6, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    omg exciting! hope your race goes great, good luck!

  4. beyondbennett March 7, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    We’re thinking of you — you’ll be fabulous!! Aww… I am SO proud of you… you are amazing! Can’t wait to hear all about it!! Love you!

Leave a Reply

