Who says pumpkin is just for Thanksgiving???

23 Feb

It’s 730 and I want to go to bed.  That’s not good.  Just one of those days where I’d like to wake up and it’s tomorrow.  Nothing wrong, but just meh.  Besides, my nice toasty bed would feel aaawesome :)

Last night after I posted I felt a little peckish and had this concoction:

This mess that you’re looking at consists of one mashed banana that was heated in the mic for about 30 secs, 10-12 chocolate chips, a drizzle of almond butter and a half dozen rough chopped hazelnuts.  Wow.  Talk about a tasty brainstorm.  I wasn’t sure about putting the banana in the microwave and heating it – I couldn’t figure out if I’d ever had hot banana before.  I still don’t know, but it definitely was good!

This morning I switched things up a little.

An eggpuck with oregano on top of a toasted piece of 12-grain bread with a smear of butter.  I ate this with a couple dots of ketchup on the top.  I used to eat this every. single. morning.  I still would, but my world has been transformed by adding oatmeal to it and putting peanut butter in my cereal.  Soooo tasty.

I packed all of these tasty snacks for my day today,

Usually I daydream about my kabocha until it’s time to eat it, but when I was hungry around 1030, I grabbed for the apple instead (the horror!!!).  The apple was very satisfying.  The kabocha and the banana ended up going uneaten (how, sad!), so expect them to make a repeat performance in the snack category tomorrow!

Lunch was easy to pack.  I took one of the paninis that Todd made last night.

This had chicken, mushrooms, green peppers and mozzarella cheese on a 9-grain ciabatta (Chewbacca).  The spinach in front is to put on the panini once I heat it up and can pry it apart.  Of course, there is my daily grapefruit in the background.  Along with this I had some carrots and hummus:

This bag of carrots has the tiniest little carrots, some of them are as thin as a pencil!  I also put some of the hummus on my panini – good choice.

I didn’t go to the gym today (I still have pain in my quads from my run on Saturday), and was quite happy to take a day off.  Todd went though.  He gets home more than an hour before I do and he usually waits to go until I get home, but today he decided he wasn’t going to wait for me.  I was happy to tell him that I had no intention of going anyway ;)

I was only home for 10 mins before Todd got home.  I folded some laundry and paid a couple of bills.  What an exciting life I lead!  Todd offered to make a big salad for dinner (so glad that he’s not one of those husbands that is afraid of the kitchen…) and got to work at the preparations.  I declined though.  Why, because I couldn’t get this out of my mind:

A big bowl of oats.  This has 1/2 cup of oats, 1 cup skim milk, 1/4 cup pumpkin, big spoon of almond butter, walnuts, 1T chia seeds, and dried cherries.  Breakfast for dinner, yum.  This was perfect.

Err, rather it was perfect.  I’ve been trying to pay attention to this – but I’m pretty sure that almond butter is bothering my stomach.  The last half dozen times that I’ve had it, I’ve found that my stomach hurts within a half hour of eating it :(  It’s now 2 and a half hours later and I can still feel it.  Almonds don’t bother me though.  And peanut butter doesn’t bother me.  Hmm.  I don’t think that I’ll be stopping the almond butter consumption though… (I’ll just complain about the effects :P)

Right before I sat down to write this post, I had one last snack (you know, cause I missed my afternoon one :P)

Salsa and homemade guac on Guiltless Gourmet chips.  Ya, still only think this flavour of chips is meh, but when you load them up….  :)  Even though they weren’t my favourite, I had about a dozen of the chips.

Caitlin mentioned this week that she froze some of her pumpkin.  I can’t get through a whole can of pumpkin before it needs to be thrown out, so freezing it sounded perfect!  I decided to freeze it this way:

The plastic wrap makes for less mess and an easy way to get the pumpkin cubes back out.  You can also wrap the cubes in the plastic afterward – I’m all about reusing!

Ok , got a men’s Olympic Hockey game to watch: Go Canada Go!!!

But before I go… Todd just took a series of pics of Moxie as she’s sitting beside me (yes I have flames on my sweatshirt…).

Oh what a tough life she leads…. :)

One Response to “Who says pumpkin is just for Thanksgiving???”

  1. Kelly February 24, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    Heating a banana…sounds like a plan! I might have to give that a try today! :)

Leave a Reply

