Well, that is shocking!!!

22 Feb

We got some snow today.  I shouldn’t be surprised because I do live in Canada, and it is February.  But we don’t get a whole ton of snow here (across the border from Detroit, MI) and I’ve honestly only shoveled 3 times this winter!  I just realized that I should have taken a picture of the snow (duh!), but it’s pretty dark out there right now – so, too bad!  I think we probably ended up with about 5 inches – just enough that everyone forgot how to drive.

Before my slow drive to work, I made this tasty bowl for breakfast:

Hmmm, maybe it doesn’t look so tasty, but I assure you that it was!  This is Post Selects Blueberry with half a banana, peanut butter, and cinnamon.  It hit the spot and kept me full until 11 o’clock when I had my morning snack of Kabocha

I ate this with an unpictured packet of ketchup.  Someone was in the lunchroom when I was grabbing this from the fridge and they couldn’t understand why I’d be eating squash as a snack.  Because it’s good – duh!  Wow, that was my second ‘duh’ of this post – am I 10 years old?

Lunch was some of the leek, lima bean, cauliflower, broccoli and asparagus soup from yesterday.

This soup is definitely better without the asparagus – it changes the texture too much.  I had a couple of dried out pieces of multigrain baguette in my soup and my daily grapefruit.  I also had carrots with my favourite dip of all time,

Hummus!  I can’t believe how many people haven’t had hummus before!  It’s a staple in my fridge and I can’t see going more than a week without it!  Weirdos.  :)

Work passed by today sooooo quickly!  Amazing considering that it’s 1) Monday and 2) my coworker who shares the office with me was sick (it was so quiet!).  Before I knew it, it was time to go home to the gym.  I ate this guy on the way there.  Notice how dark it is when I pack my food up in the morning…

I stopped at home and picked Todd up and away we went.  Todd did weights today and I stretched and stetched and stretched.  My quads are still super sore from my run on Saturday :(  I then took up a spot on an upright bike, turned on my Zune, started pedalling away and read my book!  I never read when I’m doing cardio, I find that my intensity isn’t nearly as high when I’m not focused.  However, today wasn’t about intensity, it was simply about getting my legs moving.

When we came home, we decided quickly to try to use some of the leftovers in the fridge.  Todd had a salad with a panini (with grilled veggies, chicken, and beef burger and I don’t know what else).  I opted for a salad – a ginormous salad.

This was huge.  This is not a cereal bowl.  This bowl is full of spring mix, a little iceburg (for crunch), spinach, red onion, yellow pepper, black beans, smoked gouda, sunflower seeds and walnuts.  I topped the salad with crumbled up leftover veggie patties

I couldn’t seem to get a clear picture of this.  I then topped everything with a little bit of italian and ranch dressings and about an 1/8 of a cup of white vinegar (I love vinegar – any kind – on salad).

All mixed up.  I ate all of the lettuce, but only about half of the fixings.  This will work nicely for a j.a. l. lunch tomorrow (just add lettuce!).  Ya, I just made that up – go ahead, call me a dork  :)

After dinner, Todd brought me my fave frozen gum drops

If you’re a candy fan and you’ve never tried it frozen – you should!  It tastes great and takes much longer to chew, so you end up satisfied with much less!

Today I got an email newsletter from Web MD.  I’m not really a fan of this one, but every once in awhile, they’ll have an article that is quite insightful.  Today was not one of those days.  The title of it was Fat Shockers: Surprisingly High Fat Foods.  The first item on their list –  chicken pot pie.  This is high in fat?  Since when?  Of course it’s high in fat, it’s a pot pie!!! Other surprising high fat foods included:  Ding Dongs, sausage, mini corn dogs, country fried chicken, and chocolate chip muffins – you don’t say…  Seriously, this is surprising to people?  I guess it explains this a little better:  This is why you’re fat.

2 Responses to “Well, that is shocking!!!”

  1. peanutbutterfingers February 23, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    oooh i like the idea of eating those babies frozen. sounds great! also, the reds & whites are my favs… you have good taste!

  2. Kelly February 23, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    What…corn dogs are fattening? really?!?! haha! :)

Leave a Reply

