Hummus 101…

21 Feb

I woke up this morning *extremely* hungry.  Oh, and at 62o.  Ick.  I managed to stay in bed until 7, but had to get up and eat.  I had a banana with almond butter and two giant glasses of water.  The banana reminded me of a butterfly!

In the background is a bowl that just stays on the table, full of these:

I’m a candy fiend and find that these satisfy that craving when it strikes.  And they’re yummy!!!

Todd and I had to run out and do grocery errands this morning.  Before we left, I decided to chow down on some Monterey Jack with Jalapenos.

Our first stop was at the market.  I guess we normally go there on Saturday, because a few of the vendors weren’t open.  We got some great looking produce though and a couple of pounds of bacon from one of the butchers.  This bacon is amazing.  We pay less than what you would pay for commercially packaged bacon and the taste is 10x more flavourful (maybe even more!).  We don’t eat bacon often, but when we do, we want it to be worth it.

Our next stop was to the small grocery market, where I saw tomatillos for the first time.  I’ve only ever seen these in Kitchen Stadium! We just picked up our usual staples from here, but spied a bag of the new Guiltless Gourmet Spinach Artichoke Parmesan Tortilla Chips.  When we got in the car we ripped into the bag (delayed gratification is highly overrated :P) and each tried a couple.  Meh.  Nothing special.  I like all of the other kinds better.

Next up was Costco.  I know lots of people who can’t go in there without spending a couple hundred dollars.  We spent $20, and this is double that we normally spend!  We get most of our bread products from here.  I also got a 1lb bag of spinach, so expect it to show up a lot in the next week.  We hit one more grocery store, for some decent looking Kale and then 4 different stores looking for an oven thermometer.  No luck.  My oven definitely runs hot, but I just want to know by how much.  Between stores Todd and I shared an unpictured banana, because by this time, my breakfast was just a distant memory.

When we got home, I worked at putting everything away, while Todd made paninis with the 9-grain ciabatta buns (Todd likes to call them Chewbacca buns :P) that we just got from Costco, leftover pork and grilled veggies from yesterdays’ bbq and some mozzarella.

We paired it up with some Campbell’s Minestrone soup – served in the cross country ski Campbell’s kids crock today  :)  I dunked my panini in this:

I don’t really remember what I put in here – I know that there is a teensy bit of ranch dressing, balsamic vinegar and I think sour cream (I made it some time ago…).  After I ate it, I realized that I couldn’t remember exactly when I made it – so into the can it went.  Thankfully my tummy found nothing wrong with it.

To up the veggie quota, Todd cut up a bunch or raw veg,

I ate a few of these, but that panini was big!  Oh, and remember the spinach I bought?  I threw a bunch into my panini before I ate it, but forgot that my pic was pre-spinach.

After lunch, I got to using some of the ingredients we just bought and made:

This is leek, lima bean, broccoli, cauliflower and asparagus soup – pre blending.  I also made,

Kale chips!!!  Sorry for the half blurry picture.  I got the recipe for this on Tina’s blog and wow – they were awesome.  Todd tried them and loved them too.  Since the oven was on,

Kaboacha ready for the oven.  This will make for some mighty fine snacks throughout the week.  Finally I (well, actually Todd made it and I documented the process) made hummus.  I have people ask for this recipe all the time and I have trouble telling people how to make it, because it’s not very precise.  So I decided to document the EASY process.

Hummus 101

You will need the following ingredients,

  • 19oz (540mL) can of chick peas
  • salt
  • tahini
  • lemon juice
  • water
  • 4-6 cloves of garlic

Start by getting this guy out,

This is actually the most important step.  You need to rinse your chick peas!  If you don’t they can totally change the taste of the hummus – and not in a good way…

This is the easiest way to do it.  Use your can opener and go nearly half way around, then skip about an inch and start opening again, leaving the last inch unopened.  Then flip the can over (in the sink) and take the entire top off.  When you run the water, the water will go right through the can, but the chickpeas will stay inside!  This rinses them very well.

As the chickpeas drain, add approximately 1/4 – 1/3 of a cup of lemonjuice (realemon, not actual lemon juice)

Next add approximately 1/2 a cup of tahini (sesame seed paste)

Sorry for the crappy picture – Todd scraped the spatula on the side of the food processor – which makes for good practice, but bad pics.

Also add approximately 1/2 tsp of salt

Next up, garlic!  This all depends on how much garlic you like – I like this VERY garlicky and use about 6 cloves of garlic.  You might want to dial it back to 4 or so.

I just realized that we actually put 7 in today!  But it’s kinda old and wrinkly, so it was probably right…

Throw the garlic in and a handful of the chickpeas.

Add approximately 1/2 cup of water,

Mix on high and as it’s mixing add the the rest of the chickpeas.

It should look like this when you’re done:

You can mix it shorter or longer depending on your preference for smoothness, or a few chunks.  Did you notice how I said ‘approximately’ before each ingredient?  This is because it really is by taste.  At this point you need to taste your masterpiece and decide if you need to add more lemon, or garlic, or even water if you think it’s too thick.  It all depends on your own personal preference, but the ratios of the ingredients are as above.  The more you make it, the more you’ll figure out the amounts that are good for you.

The finished product:

For dinner, I decided to have some of this!  I ended up having hummus, bacon (!), coarse mustard, cheese, spinach, avocado and tomato on romaine.

I made two of them – I took the top off one so that you could see it better.  I also had a small bowl of the leek, lima bean (etc) soup, from above, and the bread is to dip in it (I only ended up eating half of the bread – which is from a multigrain baguette – so full!)

Mmmmmm…  All in all it was a very tasty day!

Whew!  That was a long one!!!!

3 Responses to “Hummus 101…”

  1. Christie @ Honoring Health February 22, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    I just finished eating my lunch that included homemade hummus. I normally make it from beans I cooked myself but surely next time I am in a pinch and use canned, I will totally be doing that rinsing method. What a cool idea.

    I like my hummus with tons of garlic and lemon! This time, I also added a pinch of cumin but I couldn’t really taste it.

    • flybynyght February 22, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

      You know, I’ve never thought of cooking the beans myself, and I’m kinda surprised at that…

      Love your blog btw!!!

  2. Kelly February 22, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    I totally need to bite the bullet and make homemade hummus. These directions were awesome! Thank you!! :)

Leave a Reply

