That’s the way it’s supposed to look???

13 Feb

Man am I tired today.  I’m thinking that this will just be a quick post and then I need a nap!  I got up around 730 (because that’s sleeping in to me…) and finally finished the book that I was reading:  The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery.  I’ll have a review of it later.

As I got ready for the day, I had this sad looking fellow,

He was a little beat up, but quite tasty.

I met my friend Trish for coffee/breakfast this morning at a cute cafe called Tres Bean.  We both ordered breakfast and cappuccinos and I *really* enjoyed my eggs, bacon, potatoes and multi-grain toast.  Sorry for the lack of pictures, but I haven’t got to the point that I can comfortably take a pic of my food in public.  This is even more so when my companion doesn’t know about this new (and to many, quite strange!!!) obsession.

After sitting and chatting for a couple hours, we went down to the weekend produce/meat/cheese/baker’s market.  I didn’t need a whole lot, but got some *great* looking tomatoes….wait I’m going to go take a pic…

Look pretty tasty, no?  I also got some brussels sprouts, an eggplant, a gorgeous head of broccoli, a couple of peppers and a couple of Golden Russet apples.

I’d never heard of a Golden Russet before.  These particular ones are local.  The skin is a yellowish/brownish/green and is quite rough.  You can actually see the roughness in the pic.  To be honest, they looked like they were old or bad and I never would have looked twice at them if I were just on my own.  However, Trish told me that this is what they were supposed to look like and that they were quite tasty.  Todd and I split one and I thought it was, meh.  The taste was a distinctive, but I don’t know how to describe it (and I only had 2 bites…), but I like a crisp apple, and the texture inside was quite like a mac (ok, I just mis-typed man there..haha), so a little too soft for me.  I do like trying new things though!

Ok – off to take said nap.  I’ll be back later and hopefully with a new layout…

One Response to “That’s the way it’s supposed to look???”

  1. Diana February 13, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    lol I hear ya on not taking photos in front of people. I’ve been doing this so long, it’s almost second nature to just bust out my camera in public, but I remember trying to resist the urge. Now I let my camera go! haha :)

Leave a Reply

