Oh what a world it would be!!!

10 Feb

I’m soooo tired :(  Not sure why…must just be one of those days!  So onto the food before I fall asleep!

Breakfast was a little different for me!

Although I did have my normal oats and skim milk, I mixed it with pumpkin (I’m in such a squash mode right now!), chia seeds, peanut butter, walnuts, nutmeg, cinnamon and craisins.  It was pretty tasty!  I really felt that oats were missing banana :(  Seeing as the ones we have are pretty green still, it’s not looking good for tomorrow – oh well, bring on the pumpkin again!

My snacks for the day:

I had the gala apple with a small handful of unpictured almonds from my desk in the morning.  The hummus and carrots were yummy and for my much needed afternoon snack.

Lunch was leftovers x 2

This is the last of the butternut squash ravioli topped with the last of the butternut and cottage cheese soup.  This was a fairly big portion so I thought that just a grapefruit would round out my meal.  As usual, I had a few people asking what I was eating.  They’re not used to seeing anything that doesn’t come out of a box for lunch.  Sorry, not for me.

After work I had to go to the grocery store to pick up some bits and bobs. I hate going somewhere before I go to the gym and even a simple trip to pick up a few groceries will burn me out of my gym excitement.  Add to this, the fact that I couldn’t remember if I had packed my Zune (which I was sure to charge after the fiasco of yesterday).  I made a deal that if I had my Zune, I’d go to the gym – if not – it would be day-off-day!  So I reached into the pocket and… there it was.  So off to the gym I went.  Unfortunately it was c-r-a-p-p-y.  I went on the treadmill because I feel like I haven’t run in weeks!  Within 3 steps I could feel the pain in my knee.  Boo.  I finished up that measly mile and got off the treadmill.  I hopped on a bike and did an intermediate level.  I dropped that down 3 levels after a minute and a half because this was bothering my knee.  Now this wasn’t hurting the lateral side of my knee, like I’ve been experiencing, this was bothering me right under my knee cap.  Haven’t felt pain like that since my soccer days.  After a few minutes it was completely gone though.  And now?  You’d never know there was anything wrong.  I think that I’m going to do a few miles outside on Friday and see how my knee holds up.

Once I got home, I decided to actually prepare something that would take more than 5 minutes. I just happened to have an eggplant that needed to be cooked so I decided to make Allie‘s Eggplant Black Bean Veggie Burger recipe.  I made a few changes; namely, more mushrooms and I added roasted red peppers.  Beside my eggplant was a kabocha squash and it was just calling my name, so I cut it up (does anyone have an easy way of doing this?  I find it *very* tough) and threw it in the oven.

The finished product:  burger and fries anyone?  How funny is it that I *actually* thought that I should add some veggies to the plate!  Ah, the mind is an easy thing to fool!

A close up of the burger:

Along with the patty, is coarse mustard, feta, tomato, romaine, red onion and of course, ketchup (what’s a burger without it!).  My patty doesn’t look nearly as good as Allie’s did, but Yum!

A very tasty day indeed.  However…when I was at the grocery store, I grabbed some of these…

Gumdrops.  Weird shaped ones mind you, but gumdrops.  I bought them because I love eating them frozen.  However, I’ve eaten more of them tonight than I wanted and I don’t think that they’ll be making an appearance in my house for quite awhile…

Time to watch Modern Family…night!

2 Responses to “Oh what a world it would be!!!”

  1. beyondbennett February 12, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    Your burg looks fantastic!! Yum! I’m definitely trying it! And oh, sweet kabocha, I am waiting for the day you grace my small town grocery store…eat one for me in the meantime, please! Or four or five. It could be a while… :)

    As for cutting really hard squash I usually pop it in the microwave for a bit just to soften (a minute or two usually does it depending on the mic) — just fork it a little beforehand, and watch out if it’s waxed (the melty wax is HOT HOT HOT! not that I have ever burned myself with it…)

  2. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) February 12, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    YES!!! So glad you liked the burgers!! I was afraid I only thought they were good because I made them :) I’ll have to try adding red peppers the next time I make them.

Leave a Reply

