Anyone have a recipe for banana soup?

3 Feb

Remember when I was saying that “I hope that this isn’t one of those things that come in 3’s?”  Well, I don’t know if it qualifies, but… When Todd came home, I told him about the non-functioning oven.  He took a look at it and then made the astute discovery that the stove top didn’t work either *le sigh* – it hadn’t even occurred to me to check that.  I thought it was just the oven.  We can get by without an oven for a little while, but there’s no way we can go through our day-to-day lives without a stove.  Do I have the money in my pocket for a new stove?  No.  Do I even want to spend the money for a new stove?  No, not really.  Kijiji here I come!  (I’m really trying to keep upbeat about this, but man, it really feels like we’ve been kicked quite a few times over the last couple of months.  But, I have to remember, we’ve got our health – ok – I’m watching Cold Case right now and the song that is playing in the background is singing: “You’ve got to ac-cent-u-ate the pos-i -tive…” – thanks for message.  I got it.  Don’t wallow, do something about it)

You know, normally I’m very upbeat, positive and optimistic.  This isn’t always easy to do when I’m feeling the way I am, but I know that if I try to see the bright side that eventually it will be there.  So moving on!

I didn’t go to the gym today (shhhh!  Don’t tell!) and went to the grocery store instead.  I picked up some bananas and Guiltless Gourmet Chipotle chips.  Have you tried these chips?  Todd and I lurrrve them.  It’s like eating a flavoured tostito, but with more taste, less calories, and less fat, oh and they’re baked.  They’re still a treat, but it’s one of the *very* few packaged or processed foods that I eat.  Anyway, back to my story.  When I walked in the house, I looked in the fruit basket and this is what I saw:

I saw not one, but two bunches of bananas.  And this didn’t include the bananas I just bought!  As I was laughing to myself, I placed the grocery bag on the table and noticed a bag of Guiltless Gourmet chips.  Todd and I went to the exact same grocery store (that we never go to) and bought the exact same two items a couple of hours apart.  I think we’re meant to be together.  :)

Now I have bananas for my oats in the morning.  This morning I actually switched it up a bit – ok, I forgot to make my oats the night before.  I had an egg puck with oregano on 12-grain toast, with a little bit of butter (you’re probably wondering about the butter – but I eat very little fat, and I try to make sure that I have a little with each meal – which is good for absorption of protein) and a couple dabs of ketchup.  You know, maybe I’ll try to take pics of breakfast tomorrow.  Not that it’ll look that interesting.  If you’re lucky, maybe I’ll add a pic of my beautiful morning hair.  :)  I’ve been getting a little bit better about taking pics of dinner, but the other meals, not so much (read: never).  There’s no reason that I can’t take pics of breakkie and lunch (I pack a lunch every morning).  We’ll see…  Oh, and speaking of lunch, I had 2 ‘pizzas’ leftover from dinner last night (onebun with mushrooms, red pepper, tomato sauce, grape tomatoes, cottage cheese, pork tenderloin, green onion, feta, garlic, oregano), a few carrots and a large grapefruit.  I also ate not one, but two apples with a 1/2 Tbsp of almond butter and a piece of 12-grain bread with 1Tbsp of PB throughout the day.  It was a hungry one today.

As for dinner, here it is cooking:

Notice that I said cooking!  This is an electric frying pan and it was a life saver!  There were quite a few leftovers that I wanted to throw together and this is what I got.  It has a bit of chicken and pork tenderloin, whole grain rotini, bean sprouts, red peppers, snow peas, black beans, walnuts, soy sauce, lime juice, and thai sweet chili sauce.  And it was yummy.  So yummy in fact, that I forgot to take a picture of my plate!  …and just when I was thinking that I was getting a hang of this  :)

OK – time to go – need some time to relax and decompress.  I try not to have any alcohol during the week (simply because of the amount of calories), but I’m thinking that a glass of wine might be in order.

Btw – wonder why Todd and I both bought chips when they’re a treat for us?  Well, remember the guacamole I made yesterday?  Ya, it’s still in the fridge – carrots only go so far – mmm (baked) chips!

Leave a Reply

