No seriously, it exploded! Sparks and everything…

2 Feb

Groundhog Day already?  How did that happen?  Winter will be over before you know it, despite what the groundhogs say.  The day at work was quick – but a tad bit frustrating.  Basically, I was doing something that could have been VERY simple, but was told to do it in the most convoluted way possible.  All to save a few dollars.  Literally just a *few* dollars.  Whatever – it kept me busy and kept the time going!

So right into today’s vittles:

  • Breakfast: Overnight oats with skim milk, dried cherries, 1/2 banana, almond butter and 1 Tbsp chia seeds; large Timmy’s with cream and sugar; water
  • Snack: Banana with 1 Tbsp almond butter; water
  • Lunch: Leek, lima bean and cauliflower soup (can’t get enough of it!); 9-grain ciabatta bun; large grapefruit; water
  • Snack when I was preparing dinner: about 7 bread and butter pickle slices with a sliver of smoked gouda
  • Dinner: Remember yesterday’s dinner?  Well, take away the pasta, add in a onebun and we’ve got tonight’s dinner!

Here’s the preparation.  No, this isn’t all for me.  I figure Todd will have one or two when he comes home from work and this will be a great lunch for tomorrow.

So these are onebuns (whole grain sandwich thins) with tomato sauce, fat-free cottage cheese, pork tenderloin, red peppers, green onions, grape tomatoes, oregano, garlic and feta.  They look like they have a ton of feta on them, but some of that is the cottage cheese.  Wanna know a trick to keep this crispy and not soggy?  Before you do anything, put them in the toaster!  Then the tomato sauce (or whatever you put on it) doesn’t soak into the bread.

So as you can see, the pan is on the stove ready to go into the oven.  Yum!!!!

Or not.

For the past several months, we’ve been having troubles with our oven not wanting to work properly, and to add to the problems, one day right before Christmas, one of the stove elements actually exploded!

Here’s the offender, notice the missing element…

We’ve been debating what to do about this piece of equipment.  Believe it or not, a replacement stove element is nearly $30.  $30 goes pretty far toward a new stove.  We just need bare bones, but it looks like we might be needing to look sooner than we thought.  :(    Blender and oven in one week?  I really hope this isn’t one of those “comes in 3’s things.”

So how did I heat up my pizzas?  Microwave?  No way!  Check it out…

Pizzas in the panini press with two small oven safe (I’m pretty sure they were oven safe…) bowls preventing the top from actually pressing!  A pat on the back for me.  And now, the finished product:

Joining my ‘pizzas’ are raw cauliflower and carrots with a few sprays of italian salad spritzer and then a few shakes of italian seasoning.  That combination was a new one and it was absolutely delicious.

So how’s that for a few more pics than normal?  Would it just blow your mind if I had one more?  Well here you go!

I made some guacamole for a snack for later on, or tomorrow, or whatever!  I love me some guac.  Here’s my recipe:

  • 2 ripe avocados, mashed to your preference of chunkiness
  • 1 Tbsp of Victorian Epicure guacamole seasoning (yes, I cheat – but this stuff rocks and it’s fantastic for tuna guac too!) or whatever guac seasoning you like.  Now you might be wondering why I’m posting this recipe if I use a commercial seasoning and not my own – try the rest of it altogether and you’ll see…
  • 1.5 tsp fat free sour cream
  • 1 tsp of lime juice
  • 1/4 cup diced tomatoes
  • Frank’s Red Hot!  Obviously to your taste, but I use enough that it changes the colour of the guac slightly.

As it sits, the flavours marry and it gets better and better – although slightly darker (of course).  I didn’t think I was going to have any today, but after looking at that pic, I’m going to the kitchen to get some carrots to dunk into that bowl.  Mmmm….Bye!

Leave a Reply

