Just realized, I ate no meat today…

12 Jan

I feel that I am coming along in the transformation that I set out for myself a year and a half ago.  I also feel that my blog is being transformed.  I think that the posts of the past few weeks are a better reflection of who I am now, than what my blog entries of the past state.  Not that there was anything wrong with my older entries, in fact, many are quite entertaining (at least I think so!).  Because of this, I decided to lock ’em up!  However, I’ll give you the password for them – you just have to write a comment asking for it and it’s yours, whether I know you in real life, in cyberspace or not at all!

That all being said, remember that when you read my blog, to keep this in mind.

Today has been a great day ALL DAY.  I jumped out of bed, hoping for a few more minutes of sleep, but knowing I didn’t need them as I had a great night’s sleep.  I enjoyed my breakfast instead of having to rush around and stopped at Timmy’s on my way to work.  Work was very productive and went nice and quickly!  It was also great to see that the sun was actually out for most of the day today – it’s been quite a long time for that.  My plan was to go to the gym after work, but seeing the sun out made me want to go for a run!  I didn’t think my body was quite up to my 8miler that I had disrupted on Saturday (still QUITE sore), but I knew I could bang out a 5k.  Because it was a shorter run than I’ve done in a while, I was actually able to get home before dark, and in the sun no less!  I decided that if I was still feeling energetic, I’d go to the gym! …it is a whole whopping 1 block from my house.  After a change from my sweaty shirt, I did some great stretching and hopped on the elliptical.  I did ten minutes forward, ten backward and then moved over to the bike.  I did 15 minutes of hills and felt wonderful.  I stretched everything out again and headed home, very satisfied with my activity today.  Now, just to try to add some yoga into this…

When I got home I whipped up a little dinner and felt inspired to just throw some things in a pan.  I came up with tofu marinated in olive oil, curry and garlic, with sprouts, coconut, green beans and quinoa.  It was very yum.  Todd wold have looked at that and declared that he’d have a sandwich instead.  Not a huge fan of tofu (at least when it’s cubed and looks like tofu) and he’s not a fan of curry, so I try to eat the things he’s not keen on when he’s on afternoons and I eat alone.  Like the rice paper wraps I had last week.  Mmmmm.  The funny thing is, when Todd’s on days, he’s the cook 90% of the time.  I have re-discovered my love of cooking though and hope that this will change (sorta, it’s always nice to have a meal made for you!).

Now I’m watching the Biggest Loser and as much as the weight loss is not realistic for people not working out 8 hours a day, I find it incredibly inspiring to see how hard these people work and to watch them turn into the people they want to be.  Off to bed when it’s over; going to spend some time reading my new book and then I’m going to have an awesome night’s sleep and have a great day again tomorrow!

  • Breakfast: Overnight oats with skim milk, almond butter, 1/2 banana, dried cherries, 1T of chia seeds; large Timmy’s coffee with cream and sugar
  • Snack: 2 kiwis; water
  • Lunch: Whole wheat noodles with sprouts, black beans, Asian dressing; spring mix with pesto parmesan/balsamic vinegar; piece of pita and 4 carrots with hummus; large grapefruit; water (sounds like more food than it really was….maybe I should be taking pics…)
  • Pre-Workout Snack: 1 piece 12 grain bread with natural pb; small gala apple with 1tsp almond butter; water
  • Dinner: Coconut curry tofu with sprouts, green beans and quinoa; 6 brown rice vegetable crisps; chocolate milk (:P); water

*Sidenote – I actually thought about taking a pic of my dinner, but saw that Todd borrowed the batteries from the camera for something else.  Maybe tomorrow…  :)

Leave a Reply

