I meme, you meme…

9 Jan

Found this meme from Kathy, and thought it would be a good way to reflect on the year.  Now just to remember it…

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?

I ran 3 5Ks, I registered for a 10K (which was done one day into 2010) and registered for a soon to be completed half-marathon

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I really don’t remember making one last year…

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Two of my bffs (to the highest degree) had babies and my cousin Tina (always to be Teena Weena to Todd and I), who also fits in the bff department, also had adorable bundle of joy.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Close to me? Happily, no.

5. What countries did you visit?

The U.S….monthly….
6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

I would have loved to travel more, but funds lacked in that department.  I would have also liked to get out of debt, but again funds lacked in that department, but we’re plucking along.

7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

March 1st – first day of my new job after training

September 7th – flew to Vegas

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Running  a 5K without having to walk.  Later, running 7MILES non-stop.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Not making more of a dent in our debt.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I hurt my back pretty badly after a silly fall on Halloween.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

New bed.  I used to wake up every morning with a lot of PAIN in my lower back.  Since the new bad, i haven’t felt PAIN once (discomfort a few times, but that’s all).

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

I think mine and Todd’s!  We decided a year and a half ago to adopt a very healthy lifestyle and we’ve done it – and really can’t imagine going back.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

A co-worker’s wife’s behaviour.  No deets on this one.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Running!
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Running!  …and Vegas!

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?

I can’t think of anything other than Tik Tok by Ke$ha

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? happier
b) thinner or fatter? thinner
c) richer or poorer? about the same, maybe slightly richer
18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Running!  and reading….and blogging.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

watching crappy tv…gotten better at this though
20. How did you spend Christmas?

Went to my parents’ Christmas Eve, then they came over and Todd’s parents came over on Christmas Day.  And the furnace stopped working :(

21. Did you fall in love in 2009?

More and more with Todd, and something that I never would have thought possible at the beginning of the year, I fell in love with running.

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Hoarders, Criminal Minds, Big Brother, Biggest Loser, Corrie
23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Nope, takes too much energy.
24. What was the best book you read?

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett.  In fact, I think it was the best book that I have ever read!
25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Lady Antebellum

26. What did you want and get?

A healthy life

27. What did you want and not get?

A new house (not that I even expected one)

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

That’s a tough one, but I think Inglourious Basterds

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Laid laminate flooring, got pulled over for going 52 over (we got off – it wasn’t our car that he radared…always wondered what would happen if that were the case…), went out for a nice dinner at one of our favourite restaurants, went for a couple of drinks, watched a homeless man sitting drinking water and eating a loaf of bread – decided to give him the rest of our drink money.  I’m 31

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Getting out of debt, teaching.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?

well, I’ve tried not to buy too many clothes because I’m still losing weight – so core pieces that can be mixed and matched.
32. What kept you sane?

Exercise
33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

David Beckham…I don’t see this changing this year…

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

Harper closing Parliament for 3 months…wtf?

35. Who did you miss?

My Grandma :(  , Arlene, and I missed seeing Trish each day.
36. Who was the best new person you met?

Have I met anyone new? You know what, I’m going to say, Lori.  She’s a slow runner like I am, and she runs like a demon.  Definitely, a good inspiration.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.

Bad things do happen to good people. And on a more positive note:  If you’re gonna dream, dream big – it’s free!

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

You gotta keep on rollin’, keep on going, keep on movin’ like a runaway train.  My heart’s wide open, and I ain’t slowin’ down ’til the sun hits my face in the dawn of a new day. – Dawn of a New Day by Crystal Shawanda

One Response to “I meme, you meme…”

  1. flybynyght March 22, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    test

Leave a Reply

