Did you know that Fieri isn’t his real name?

8 Jan

Ahhh, Friday. Need I say more?  This week at work was really, well, fast!  So much to do after you take a couple of days off, plus the end of the month is always hectic – so busy = fast.  Glad it’s the weekend.  Nothing really planned though.  Tonight I went to my mom and dad’s for pizza *gasp* and cards, and had a great time.  Sadly, right when I was about to leave, Todd called and said that he’s feeling sick and going downhill fast.  For the guy who never gets sick, he’s had a rough couple of weeks…

Anything exciting happen today? Hmmm, not really – but maybe that’s a good thing.  Although my day has been extra long – been awake since 5.  I wasn’t supposed to get up until 615, but had so many lists going in my head that I just couldn’t sleep.  Nothing pressing on my mind, just things like *don’t forget your yoga mat**bring an extra pair of socks**how many rice noodles are let in the fridge?*  Ya, you know, important things.

So I knew before going to my parents’ tonight that I’d be having pizza, so I decided to make a gigantic salad to bring along for all of us to eat with the it.  The pizza was a nice treat (although my tummy kinda hurts right now) and the salad was a perfect pairing with it.  After dinner, my mom had asked me to show her some strength training that her and my dad could do at home (hence, the yoga mat) and after giving them some info, I demonstrated the ugliest plank that I’ve ever seen. Sore. Quads.  After the demo, we played some 3 handed euchre – interesting game and definitely fun.  I know, friday night with my mom and dad, what an exciting life I lead!  However, I’ve not been able to do this before in my adult life and I’m really enjoying it.  Wish they’d moved sooner!

So now I’m watching Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, while waiting for a sick Todd to get home from work.  Wow, my Friday night just keeps sounding more and more intriguing!  I think I’ll be in bed in the next couple hours, I’m supposed to run 8 miles tomorrow.  I think that I’m going to go to Malden Park and run on the paved trails – drove past today and they looked like they were cleared.  The sidewalks and streets around here are a mish mosh of everything from dry pavement to pure ice.  I think that I’d rather not have to concentrate that hard for 8 miles.  But this will all depend on how my quads feel tomorrow.

To close, I think I’ll recount my awesome meals for the day (wow I ate a lot today – but felt that I needed it).   Oh, but before I do that… You know, sometimes I forget that I have a large vocabulary and I take it for granted, not realizing that not everyone has this.  Today I used the word ‘self-depricating’ and I had two pairs of blank eyes looking at me and crickets chirping in the background.  All three of us had a chuckle over it…  Once I explained what it meant… lol.

  • Breakfast: Overnight oats with currants and 1/2 banana; 3 egg whites with small amount of low-fat ham; Timmy’s coffee with cream and sugar
  • Snack: Small Gala apple with tsp almond butter; water
  • Lunch: 2 Whole Wheat wraps with a mixture of rice noodles, spinach, sprouts, yellow pepper, mushrooms, sesame oil, walnuts, red pepper flakes, tbsp plum sauce, soy sauce, garlic; couple of baby carrots; large grapefruit
  • Snack: Organic brown rice vegetable crackers with low fat ham, mozzarella cheese and grape tomatoes; water; tea
  • Dinner: 4 half slices of pizza (made 2 pieces of normal sized pizza); mixed green salad with yellow and red peppers, red onions, tomatoes, vinegar and zesty italian dressing; baby carrots, red peppers and broccoli with tbsp of ranch and vinegar; Diet Grapefruit Soda
  • After Dinner: Nothing yet, but I may have a Vodka 7, or maybe 2.  Or maybe none, we’ll see!

Night all!

2 Responses to “Did you know that Fieri isn’t his real name?”

  1. According To C January 19, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    One of my favourite things I did over the holidays was play Canasta with my parents. Just the three of us! So you’re not alone my friend

  2. beyondbennett January 21, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    That’s fabulous that Mama and Papa G moved closer to you!! Give them hugs from me when you see them next…which will be soon!! Yay!! (Oh, and there’s nothing like a good card night, and use your big vocab all you can… I love it!) [Yes, I’m kinda bouncing around your posts as I catch up…]

Leave a Reply

