Run all the way to Florida

21 Dec

Well, Windsor finally got snow.  I love it.  I hate it.  If it’s going to be cold, we might as well have snow!  On the other hand, I’ve now had a taste of what running in the snow is really like.  Ya, it’s certainly not wonderful.  Let me put it this way:  It took me almost 6 minutes longer than normal to run 3 miles. THREE MILES!  Last week I ran 6 miles 4 minutes slower (in the rain – which I love, not snow) than I had the time before and was devastated; so 6 minutes slower for a mere 3 miles?  Wow, this snow thing is gonna take a little bit to get used to.  On the upside, the amount of effort that it took to run those 3 miles must have burned twice as much calories as normal!

Speaking of running….  I did it.  I registered for a half marathon!  OMG!  Part of me can’t believe that I’ve registered, and by March 7th (the date of the race) I should be sufficiently ready for the race, and part of me is absolutely terrified!  I guess this is good incentive to stick to my training schedule.  And speaking of training schedule, this time of year is sooooo busy.  I’m glad I’ve been able to schedule as much running as I have.  Sadly though, my next run won’t be until Christmas day.  Todd and I are going to do a nice 6 mile mid-morning run that day.  Merry Christmas!  There might be running related Christmas presents to be had….  I’m just sayin, maybe there’ll be something :)

In completely unrelated news, it sounds like Todd’s Grandma’s house may have finally sold.  It’s been on the market for 2 years.  It’s conditional on inspection though (I think, I’m just listening to his end of the conversation – he’s on the phone with his Mom right now) and I PRAY they find nothing majorly wrong with it.  It’ll be such a relief for everyone once the house is sold.

OK, a Diners, Drive Ins and Dives special is on right now…

Check ya later!

btw – told you I’d be back with another post soon!

Leave a Reply

