Standing outside the fire…

27 Jan

This post is a little heavy, but written to make you think, not ruminate.  It’s not about healthy living, but at the same time, it’s the epitome of healthy living.  If you’re having a good day, read it.  If you’re having a bad day, read it.

It is very interesting how time is completely relative to the person.

I mentioned to a coworker that I was thrilled that the week flew by, that it was Friday, and the workweek was nearly over.  She exclaimed that she couldn’t believe that it was Friday already either, and that the week went by too fast.  She said this with a little sadness.  This perplexed me for a moment, until I realized that she was over 60 and doesn’t see the end of a week in the same way that I’ve chosen to see it.  She sees each day as one to take hold of and live fully, no matter what the day entails, workday or not.

This really got me thinking.  I truly LIVE for the weekends.  I get through the workweek but I feel like I do my real living during those few hours where work isn’t an issue and I can more or less do as I please.

I need to stop this.

I need to choose to stop doing this.

I see that I need to embrace each and every day.  I need to enjoy what each day brings, even if it is 9 hours of work, a trip to the gym, tidying up and a short time of relaxing before going to bed, getting ready to do it all again the next day.

I need to stop being focused on counting the days until the weekend (0), until vacation (7), until a friends’ wedding (148).

I need to try to live in the moment, and fully live the moment.

I need to see the joy and the satisfaction in a job well done, in having the ability to go to a gym to workout, in having a husband to share the seemingly banal with and I need to be thankful that I go to bed each night with a clear expectation of waking in the morning.

The old saying goes, “Life is what happens when you’re busy trying to plan for it.”  …or something like that…   Planning is good, but not to the exclusion of living.

My Grandmother lived until she was nearly 98.  Her sisters who all lived to see adulthood, all lived until their late 90’s.  On the other side of my family, my Grandma is a very spry 82-year-old, who was married to my Grandpa for 60 years, before pancreatic cancer struck him down.  I have a full expectation of living to a ripe old age.  And I’m doing my best now to make sure that it’s a healthy one.

However, I must remember that I’m not guaranteed this time. The key is to LIVE each day you are given.

Today I’m reminded of this, as my small hometown is mourning the loss of a teenager in a horrific 4 vehicle accident at an intersection known for being dangerous.  I feel for his parents and the community.  The loss of a young life is not easily dealt with.

Todd and I have each lost a cousin to tragic car accidents while they were in their early 20’s.  I think this has changed us and the way we look at how people can be taken from us in the blink of an eye.

I think we sometimes forget that we could be the person that could be taken away.

Today I choose to fully LIVE life, and not merely be a participant.

Sincerely,

Fly

Leave a comment